Skip to Main Content

Archives and Special Collections

This LibGuide is published to promote access to the F. D. Bluford Library and Special Collections at North Carolina A&T State University, and research of A&T history remotely.

Presidents and Chancellors

Since Dr. J. O. Crosby was appointed the first president on May 25, 1892, 12 presidents and chancellors have served North Carolina A&T State University. A page is devoted to each leader with their full name rank (President and/or Chancellor), years served, with a biographyl, links to digital resources, and an overview of archival holdings. 

Fun Facts About Our Presidents and Chancellors

- James B. Dudley was A&T's youngest leader. He was 36 years old when appointed in the summer of 1896.

- Chancellor Harold L. Martin is the first A&T head to have graduated from A&T.

- President Warmoth T. Gibbs was a graduate of Harvard, with his B.A. and Masters from that institution.

- President F. D. Bluford is our longest serving leader at 30 years (1925-1955), just one year more than his predecessor President James B. Dudley.

- Lewis C. Dowdy is the only A&T leader to serve as both "President" and a "Chancellor". The title changed following A&T's transformation from a college to a university.