Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections

This LibGuide is published to promote access to the F. D. Bluford Library and Special Collections at North Carolina A&T State University, and to promote research of A&T history remotely.

Welcome

The University Archives procures, organizes, collects, describes, maintains and preserves records of historical and administrative value to the university and that have significantly impacted upon the African American experience in the Piedmont Triad region. This guide is to promote as many digital resources on NCA&T history as possible. 

Gift Donations

We encourage individuals to donate their photographs, private papers, and other documents that contribute to the mission and purpose of the Archives. Donors can be assured that their gifts will receive proper care since the Archives has a climate–controlled storage facility and a trained professional staff.

Our Collections and Selection Policy

We acquire materials relating to the university's origin, legend, policies, improvements, expansions, services, and accomplishments of the students, faculty, staff, and alumni. We also maintain university correspondences, documents, files, records and other materials deemed to be of significant historical and research value to the university. Materials not related to the university but have significant impact upon the African American experience and the local area are collected on a selective basis.

Items the Archives will accept:

Minutes and records of the Board of Trustees
Minutes and records of the general faculty assembly committees
Minutes and records of administrative and university–wide committees
Official reports, departmental self study reports and assessments
North Carolina A&T State University Publications
University yearbooks, bulletins, and special recruiting materials
Special publications, e.g. news clippings, posters, calendars, notices, events
Students’ publications
Materials of students’ organizations and activities
Pamphlets and books dealing with North Carolina A&T State University
Program of campus events
Pictorial materials, including photographs of campus, buildings, campus events
Note: Individuals in photographs must be identified before transfers.
Master's theses or doctoral dissertations
Alumni publications and papers
Campus buildings plans
Faculty publications
Special Collections:
Out of print books pertaining to African Americans
Presidents' and Chancellors' papers
Single copies of rare books
Autographed copies of books written by A&T staff and local and national authors.
Oral histories- tapes, videocassettes

Items the Archives can NOT accept:

Personal memorabilia (limited)
Regalia (limited)
Works of art (contact the University Galleries)
Student records
Financial records, payroll records, accounting records
Student grades
Yearbooks from other institutions
Grade books, examinations
Admission records
Personal records of faculty, staff or students