Finding Aids are tools that contain detailed information archival collections of records within an archive or special collections. Many of our collections do have have specific detailed findings to date. On this page we are providing listings of processed and un-processed materials available from special collections.
The F. D. Bluford Library Archives and Special Collections are continously processing collections and making them available for use. The following are collections boxes where an inventory of materials is ready, but it is not currently online, but the collection can be used in the reading room.
PRESIDENTS AND CHANCELLORS COLLECTIONS
James B. Dudley Collection - Dr. Dudley was our 2nd president (1896-1925) and long serving community figure in Greensboro and Wilmington, NC. Two boxes in archives, plus 3 boxes in the Susie B. Dudley Collections.
F. D. Bluford Collections - Dr. F. D. Bluford was A&T's 3rd and longest serving president. His collections includes scrapbooks, photographs, reports, and a large personal library.
Warmoth T. Gibbs Collection - Dr. Warmoth T. Gibbs was the 4th president of A&T (1956 - 1960), dean, administrator and President Emeritus. His collection is extensive and includes correspondence, rare books, bound collections of papers, speeches and memorabilia. Also a large personal library of rare books.
Samuel D. Proctor Collection - Photo collections and papers on A&T's 5th president with gifted materials from other libraries and archives.
Lewis C. Dowdy Collection - The papers of Dr. Lewis C. Dowdy encompass the growth of A&T College into the North Carolina A&T State University. Many of his papers are unprocessed.
Edward B. Fort Collection - Papers and documents from A&T's 8th leader as the university approached is centennials, began awarding doctorates in STEM fields and prepared for the 21st century. Over 60 file boxes.
James C. Renick Collection - Papers and numerous honorary awards for A&T 9th Chancellors, and materials about the FUTURES program.
Harold L. Martin Collection - Materials from Dr. Martin's career as Dean of Engineering, Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs, and his 15 years as Chancellor of A&T.
ALUMNI/COMMUNITY COLLECTIONS
Justice Henry E. and Shirley T. Frye Collections - The papers and archival collection of Ret. Honorable Justice Henry Ell Frey and Dr. Shirley Taylor Frye, span from 1947 to the 2021 and cover their decades of service, leadership, and teaching to communities of North Carolina and beyond.
Carrie Hill Kelly Collection - Photos, articles, and scrapbook items from one of A&T's longtime professors of English, a columnist, and the first author to publish a book on A&T history.
Dr. Ronald E. McNair Collections - Growing collections on astronaut and physicist Dr. Ronald E. McNair. The collection includes items acquired by the archives, with gifted materials from McNair's A&T instructors, colleagues and neighbors.
Armand Richardson Collection
Hal Sieber Collection
S. B. Simmons Collection
Albert W. Spruill Collection - Dean Albert W. Spruill was an alumni, longtime Dean of the Graduate College, and one its best historians. His collection includes many of his editorials for the Carolina Peacemaker and other publications.
Floydelia Spurill Collection
L. A. Wise Collection
World War I Collection - Materials related to known faculty members, alumni, and events associated with A&T's role in the Great War. Prepared for World War I Centennial research.
John D. Wray Collection - John D. Wray was the first African-African American state agricultural club agent in NC. His collection was digitized as part of the "Better Living in North Carolina" project.
UNIVERSITY DEPARTMENTS & OFFICES COLLECTIONS
H. Clinton Taylor Galleries Collection - Includes programs and souvenir booklets of past exhibitions in A&T Taylor Art Galleries. Histories and clippings about H. Clinton Taylor.
Office of the Registrar - The University Archives has copies of commencement bulletins ranging from 1909 to the present. Check with archives for years of availability.
ROTC Army & ROTC Air Force Collections - Newspaper clippings, original letters, certificates and more about the history of the ROTC units at A&T.
School of Nursing Collections - Includes boxes of photographs, commemorative books, and early Deans reports from the first decade of the nursing program.
Sports & Athletics Collections - The archives holds multiple boxes on all sports played by the university. Larger sets of materials are available on Football, Basketball, MEAC & CIAA publications, Lady Aggies/Aggiettes (softball & basketball), plus collections on track, bowling, swimming, other sports, and the A&T Sports Hall of Fame.