Skip to main content

Mechanical Engineering

This selective guide contains a bibliography of titles and electronic resources that will assist members of the Aggie community with research in Mechanical Engineering.

Databases

Research Databases

Use these selected databases, providers and vendors to access journal information.

Begin your research with these databases/vendors and providers which are accessible through the library homepage tabs for "Databases" and "eJournals".  Check each database for alerting, blog, facebook,  RSS and YouTube™ features.    provides full-text articles through another database/provider or may indicate no database access.  

Most databases have links for:

  • downloading, e-mailing and printing citations and for the full-text articles
  • APA, Chicago, MLA and Turabian citation styles
  • Alerting Services 
  • exporting to EndNote and other bibliographic management software. 

 

Database Instructions

Here are lists of databases that might help you, organized by category. All of these databases are available for on and off-campus users here or by going through the Library's Home Page at http://www.library.ncat.edu.

To find these databases from the Library Home Page:

Or

  • Click on the letter that is the first letter of the name of your Database
  • Look in alphabetical order for the name of the database
  • Finally, Click on the name of your Database.

Please note: For off-campus access, please sign in by using your username, and your password.

Your username is the one you use for Blackboard or Wi-Fi For example, if your email address is agoodstudent@aggies.ncat.edu: 

  • username: agoodstudent 
  • password: xxxxxxxx
  • (same password as for Blackboard or Wi-Fi)

Tips for Searching

When searching in online databases, remember these rules of thumb:

  1. The words you enter determine exactly what you get out. So, for different results you must use different words (Synonyms)
  2. Fewer terms = more results.
  3. More search terms = fewer results. 
  4. Some Databases search two-word phrases always together, some do not.  You may need to add "quotes" around your phrases.
  5. Connect words/phrases with AND instead of putting in complete sentences.
  6. Computers are dumb - they do not understand grammar.

Interdisciplinary Databases

These databases include articles from every discipline. From art to zoology, teaching to technology, you can find a little bit on any topic by using these research tools.