Research : Mechanical Engineering: MEEN 267 Links

Standard Tests to Consider

Charpy impact
Tensile
Hardness
Metallography with optical and SEM/EDS microscopy,
Microstructure
ASTM grain size
etc.

Online Resources

For Steel:
steeluniversity.org
award-winning, interactive, informative, innovative, integrated and sophisticated e-learning resources on steel technologies
- Areas of relevance to semester project: Steel Processing, Ferrous Metallurgy

steeluniversity provides online simulations and games in the fields of steel manufacturing, steel applications, ferrous metallurgy, and steel business.
Register to create an account and access the simulations, or login to access your account and the play the simulations.
For Aluminum:
aluMATTER
innovative and interactive e-learning resources for aluminium science and technology.

Note: active link broken. This link is to the "way-back" machine version.

ASTM International Standards
Provides access to all ASTM standards documents available, including Active, Redline, Historical and Withdrawn standards.

VPG Micromeasurements Video Library
Vishay Precision Group, Inc.
Technical Training Programs (Introductory Video)

Selected Textbook and CRC Handbooks

Fundamentals of Materials Science and Engineering: An Integrated Approach, 3rd ed by Callister, William D. and David G. Rethwisch
Call Number: A&T RESERVE TA403 .C227 2008

ISBN: 9780470125373

Publication Date: 2008

3rd ed.
Manufacturing Processes and Systems by Phillip F. Ostwald; Jairo Muñoz
Call Number: Available via Knovel eBooks

ISBN: 9780471047414

Publication Date: 1997

The longest running active book in the field, this edition includes new and updated information on operations planning, quality systems, process automation, operator-machine systems, cost estimating and all the latest technology. Presenting the latest information in the technology of manufacturing, it describes the processes whereby materials are converted into products, without losing sight of the economics involved. It focuses on integration and covers nontraditional processes and powder metallurgy, tool design, computer numerical control, plastic materials and much more.
Core Engineering Concepts for Students and Professionals by Michael R. Lindeburg
Call Number: A&T REF TA151 .L56 2010

ISBN: 9781591261902

Publication Date: 2010
Smithells Metals Reference Book by E. A. Brandes; G. B. Brook
Call Number: Available via Knovel - 7th edition

ISBN: 0750610204

Publication Date: 1998

7th edition available via Knovel
8th edition available via many eBook platforms
Smithells Metals Reference Book by E. A. Brandes; G. B. Brook
Call Number: F.D. Bluford Library Reference - 1st Floor TN671 .S55 1992

ISBN: 0750610204

Publication Date: 1992

8th edition available via many eBook platforms
A reference book on metals which includes information on isotopes, crystallography, crystal chemistry, gas-metal systems, electron emission, magnetic properties, heat treatment, corrosion control and superplasticity.

AccessEngineering
AccessEngineering is an award-winning engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides seamless access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work.
Skillport (formerly books 24x7)
When you accesses Books24x7 for the first time, you will be asked to register by providing an email address that is part of NCA&T’s domain (either @ncat.edu or @aggies.ncat.edu).
No other personally identifiable information, not even first or last name, will be requested.
You will then have to demonstrate ownership of the NCA&T email address, by retrieving the system-generated password that will be required to login to the service.
You will need to use this login information (email address and password) to gain access to Books24x7 from within the library, on or off campus.
Knovel Library
Electronic book titles in the fields of science and engineering. Subjects covered include: Adhesives, Coatings, Sealants & Inks; Aerospace & Radar Technology; Biology, Biochemistry & Biotechnology; Ceramics & Ceramic Engineering; Chemistry & Chemical Engineering; Civil Engineering & Construction Materials; Composites; Computer Hardware Engineering; Earth Sciences; Electrical & Power Engineering; Electronics & Semiconductors; Environment & Environmental Engineering; Food Science; General Engineering & Project Administration; Industrial Engineering & Operations Management; Manufacturing Engineering; Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering; Metals & Metallurgy; Nanotechnology; Nondestructive Testing & Evaluation; Oil & Gas Engineering; Pharmaceuticals, Cosmetics & Toiletries; Plastics & Rubber; Safety & Industrial Hygiene; Software Engineering; Sustainable Energy & Development; Textiles; Transportation Engineering.
CRCnetBASE (Now SCI-TECHnetBASE)
A collection of online books that span over 40 disciplines. Now includes access to ENGnetBASE,ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, MATERIALSnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NANOnetBASE, and POLYMERnetBASE.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
Collection of eBooks covering a variety of subjects, including arts and entertainment, business and economy, computer and internet, education, health, history, government and law, recreation and sports, reference, science and technology, social sciences, and society and culture.
ProQuest Ebook Central
E-books from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas. Users will need to create an account to access remotely.