Research & Subject Guides: SciFinder: Home

Welcome

Sci Finder is the Web version of Chemical Abstracts.

Sci Finder requires registration BEFORE one can Access.

Sci Finder is listed under the letter "S" databases at the library's homepage.

Alternately, use the link on the Searching page to Access.

How to Register and Access

Registration Form
Each user must register for a SciFinder account using their NCA&T email.
The registration form allows you to create your own username and password.
However, you must use your ncat.edu email account to register.
It sometimes takes up to a day to get this process completed.
Look for the link in your "spam" or "junk mail" folder if you don't see it in your Inbox.

Summary

Summary
SciFinder is the expanded electronic version of Chemical Abstracts. It allows users to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines including chemistry and biology. It provides references from more than 10,000 currently published j

Coverage

SciFinder is composed of six databases and covers literature from the late 19th century to present in the following fields:chemistry, chemical engineering,biochemistry,geochemistry, agricultural chemistry,biomedical and medicinal chemistry, biotechnology, materials science,organic and inorganic chemistry, pharmacology, toxicology, environmental scienceand wastemanagement.

The six databases making up SciFinder include:

CAplus - literature database

CA Registry Numbers - physical property data, and structure diagrams

CASREACT - reaction data

CHEMCATS - chemical source data

CHEMLIST - regulatory chemical information

Medline - the Medline database includes OLDMEDLINE, and covers biomedical literature from more than 4,780 journals and 70 countries.

Chemport: Connecting to full-text documents

Some of the subjects covered at this site are: engineering/applied chemistry, general chemistry, physics, biology & life sciences, medical sciences, polymer sciences, material sciences, geological sciences, food sciences and agricultural sciences.