Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

World War I - The Great War

Resources from the F. D. Bluford Library and the best of online instructional resources and digital collections to celebrate the Centennial of World War I.

Collection Boxes


World War I Collection NEW!! - Materials related to known faculty members, alumni, and events associated with A&T's role in the Great War.

James B. Dudley Collection - Dr. Dudley was our 2nd president (1896-1925) and his leadership kept the campus through the conflict.

ROTC Army & ROTC Air Force Collections - Newspaper clippings, original letters and more about the history of the ROTC at A&T.

Warmoth T. Gibbs Collection - Dr. Warmoth T. Gibbs was the 4th president of A&T (1956 - 1960) and one of our most famous war veterans.

John D. Wray Collection - John D. Wray was the first African-African American state agricultural club agent in NC. His collection was digitized as part of the "Better Living in North Carolina" project.

Verticle File Collection

Verticle Files are collections of clippings, photographs and other documents that are part of a larger subject file collection. We have several on faculty (F/S) and alumni (A) who served in World War I.

Campbell, Robert L(F/S) One of the most decorated African-American veterans of the war and a long-time military instructor at A&T. A photo file and a "Campbell Hall" file are also available.

Love, George B. (F/S) - Instructor of auto mechanics who served in France. 

Cherry, David King (F/S) - Professor of mathematics, later the president of Kittrell College and Knoxville College. Served as a captain in France. (NEW!) Biography now available from NCpedia.

Byarm Sr., Lonnie P. (F/S) - Engineering instructor and one or our first championship football coaches.

Jones, Dr. S. B. (F/S) - One of our earliest college physicians who served in his native British West Indies. Photo file also available.

Haley, Simon A. (A) - Father of author & genealogist Alex Haley. Served in France during the war. 

Burnett, Foster F.. (A) - Class of 09' student who became a well known physician after the war. 

Rare Books

University Archives

The University Archives procures, organizes, collects, describes, maintains and preserves records of historical and administrative value to the university and that have significantly impacted upon the African American experience in the Piedmont Triad region.

Location

Room 201, Second Floor, F.D. Bluford Library

Hours

Monday–Friday, 8am-5pm

Closed when the library is closed, see here for more information  

 

 

 

In the News