Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Sit-In Movement, 1960

Four North Carolina A&T freshmen made history on February 1, 1960 by starting America’s Sit-In Movement at F. W. Woolworth in downtown Greensboro.

University Archives

The University Archives procures, organizes, collects, describes, maintains and preserves records of historical and administrative value to the university and that have significantly impacted upon the African American experience in the Piedmont Triad region.

Location: Room 201, Second Floor, F.D. Bluford Library

Hours: Monday–Friday, 8am-5pm

Closed when the library is closed, see here for more information  

Collection Boxes

February One Mounument - International Civil Rights Museum Boxes 0001 - 000

A&T Four Collection, Box 0001, Box 0002, Box 0003 

Jibreel Khazan (Ezell Blair Jr.,) Collection

Franklin McCain Collection

Joseph-McNeil - David Richmond Collection

Hal Sieber Collection - Box 0001 A&T SPEC COLL F264.G7 S543 2002 - Box 0002 A&T SPEC COLL F264.G7 S543 2002

Simkins, Dr. George Jr., Collection Boxes 0001 - 0003

Sit-Ins Collection Boxes 0001 - 0009 

 

Verticle File Collection

Verticle Files are collections of clippings, photographs and other documents that are part of a larger subject file collection. We have several on faculty (F/S) and alumni (A), and general topics or non-affliated persons (G).

Brandon, Lewis III(A) One of the "Fifth Freshman" who were at Woolworth's on Feburary 5th, 1960. A longtime community activist in Greensboro, NC, Brandon was also the first recipient of the A&T Human Rights Medal in 2001. SEE ALSO: A&T Experience Through Voices for an oral history with Lewis Brandon

Dubose, Charles (A) Student body president during the Sit-In movement, his folder contains a certificate of appreciation to President Warmoth T. Gibbs.

Henderson, Clarance (A) - One of the "Fifth Freshman". He is seen with Billy Smith in a famous photo taken on February 2nd, 1960. 

Johns, Ralph (G) - Often called the "Father of the Sit-In Movement", Johns was a local merchant who mentored and supported the student sit-in movement. 

Rozier, Albert L. Jr. (A) - Rozier was editor of the "A&T Register" student newspaper during the movement. 

 

Rare Books in Special Collections

Videos