Library of Congress - Fashion Industry Guide
This guide represents a selection of the many resources in the Library of Congress that may be useful for the study of the business aspects of fashion (or FTAR for fiber, textile, apparel, and retail). It includes all aspects of fashion - clothes, shoes, bags, accessories.
LACMA Costume and Textiles Pattern Project
The Pattern Project is an online resource produced by the Costume and Textiles department at LACMA which publishes free downloadable garment patterns of historic dress in the permanent collection.
FIT - Fashion History Dictionary
The Dictionary offers definitions on the history of fashion and design.
FIT - Fashion History Timeline
The Timeline offers scholarly contributions to the public knowledge of the history of fashion and design.
Commercial Pattern Archive - CoPA
Provides a unique tool for researchers and designers to recreate or date clothing from 1847 to present. Collections from the US, Canada and the UK are represented in the database which functions like a Union Catalog of pattern collections.
NYPL - Costume and Fashion History: A Guide to Resources
Provides information on the history of fashion.
Fashion Designer Survival Guide
The Fashion Designer Survival Guide to help fashion entrepreneurs find answers to all their questions about starting and running their own fashion label.
All Sewn Up: Millinery, Dressmaking, Clothing and Costume
This digital collection includes millinery, dressmaking, clothing and costume books from the UW-Madison collections. These books from the first half of the 20th century (1907 – 1940's) include the history of clothing, styles of dress, fashion drawing, and design and construction of hats, clothing and costumes.
Chicago History Museum: Costume and Textile Collection
With more than 50,000 costumes and textiles dating from the eighteenth century to the present, the Museum’s world-renowned Costume and Textiles collection is noted for both its size and the quality of its holdings.
Denver Art Museum: Textile Art & Fashion
The Avenir Institute of Textile Arts and Fashion encompasses over 5,000 objects from Asia, Europe, and North and South America, which range from archaeological textiles to contemporary works of art in fiber and fashion from the 18th century to today.
Black Fashion Museum Collection
This collection is housed at the Smithsonian and includes information on Black contributions to fashion over centuries.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Costume Institute
The Costume Institute's collection of more than thirty-three thousand objects represents seven centuries of fashionable dress and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.
Denison Digital Collections - The History of Fashion
Digital collection representing the history of fashion.
Brooklyn Museum - Libraries and Archives: Fashion and Costume Sketch Collection, 1912-1950
Images found in The Digital Library Collection represent scans from books and other documents held in the the Brooklyn Museum Library.
Interactive Fashion History "Fitting Room"
This Augmented Reality experience from the FIT Library allows you to try on accessories featured in original fashion sketches.
Cornell Fashion + Textiles Collection
The Cornell Fashion + Textile Collection (CF+TC) is home to more than 10,000 garments, flat textiles, and accessories from the late 18th Century to the Present.
Bonnie Cashin Collection (part of the JSTOR Open Community Collection)
The UC Bonnie Cashin Collection is housed in the Robert A. Deshon and Karl J. Schlachter Library for Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning (DAAP) at the College of DAAP at the University of Cincinnati. This teaching collection comprises over 200 historical garments designed by Bonnie Cashin while she worked with Phil Sills between the years of 1960 and 1980. These garment samples were manufactured by Phil Sills and Co. between the years 1960-1979.
Dressed: the History of Fashion
Created by fashion historians and friends, April Calahan and Cassidy Zachary, the podcast Dressed: The History of Fashion celebrates the who, what, when of why we wear throughout history and around the world.
The Debrief: The Business of Fashion
The Debrief, a new weekly podcast focuses Business aspects of Fashion.
While some of the bigger fashion houses have launched podcasts featuring designer to take the initiative to start a podcast on their own.
Formerly the home of The Collector's House, and now the place where you can find all audio content from luxury fashion destination MATCHESFASHION.
The Conversations Jason Campbell & Henrietta Gallina
Podcast started as a means to document our frequent conversations about fashion and culture.
Podcast dedicated to highlighting the lives and journey of Women of Color in the fashion industry.
Get all the News, Press Release and Insights from apparel industry, textile industry, fashion industry & other industries from around the world .
JC Reports: Inside global fashion trends
JCReport is a lifestyle blog that helps people achieve a certain lifestyle that they want and need.
Blogs - The Miami School of Fashion & Design
Blog operated by the Miami School of Fashion and Design.
Fashion Design - The Sewing Room
This blogs gives some insight to the fashion world as well my daily design & sewing practice (which tends toward the Vintage).
Fashion School Daily | AcademyUFashion Blog
Fashion news site sponsored by the Academy of Art University.
Information website for professionals in fashion, luxury and beauty.
