Four North Carolina A&T freshmen made history on February 1, 1960 by starting America’s Sit-In
Movement at F. W. Woolworth in downtown Greensboro.
Last Updated: Sep 14, 2017
Under the Databases' sub tab are lists of databases that might help you in your research. All of these databases are available for on and off-campus users here or by going through the Library's Home Page at http://www.library.ncat.edu.
To find these databases from the Library Home Page:
- Choose the Databases tab from the Library home page
- Click Browse Databases by Title
- Look in alphabetical order for the name of the database, as listed to the left.
Please note: For off-campus access use your first and last name, and your Banner ID number.
To find Articles check the Databases
Articles are indexed by the electronic databases that are accessible through the library’s homepage http://www.library.ncat.com
- Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary, full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
- Black Studies Center
Scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles and videos on African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
- Black Thought and Culture
Contains works of non-fiction written by leading African Americans.
- General OneFile (InfoTrac)
Index to general periodicals and scholarly journals. Millions of full-text articles.
- Greenwood Digital Collection
A collection emphasizing history and literature including slave narratives and critical companions to popular contemporary authors. Includes Critical Companions to Popular Contemporary Writers, Literature in Context, Daily Life through History, and Historic Events of the 20th Century.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (via ProQuest)
Full-text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- History Resource Center: U. S. (via GaleNet)
Significant full-text resources covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
- International Index to Black Periodicals
Full-text coverage of over 40 core Black Studies periodicals, plus citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals.
Provides full-text and images of over 150 scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines
- MasterFILE Premier
Multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,050 general reference publications.
- NC Live Media Collection
The media collection includes documentaries and PBS shows.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles pertaining to social issues.
- Oxford African American Studies Center
Comprehensive collection of scholarship on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
- Project Muse
Full text of scholarly journals covering the humanities and social sciences.
- Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest)
Full-text of this newspaper.
Full-text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from thousands of multidisciplinary sources.
Google even knows you need something extra to help you find quality information for your research.