Government Documents Database
This is the "MEEN 267 Links" page of the "Mechanical Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mechanical Engineering   Tags: engineering, mechanical engineering  

This selective guide contains a bibliography of titles and electronic resources that will assist members of the Aggie community with research in Mechanical Engineering.
Last Updated: Oct 13, 2017 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/MEEN Print Guide RSS Updates

MEEN 267 Links Print Page
  Search: 
 

Standard Tests to Consider

  • Charpy impact
  • Tensile
  • Hardness
  • Metallography with optical and SEM/EDS microscopy,
  • Microstructure
  • ASTM grain size
  • etc.

Online Resources

  • Pace Technologies Metallographic Handbook
    "The 'HOW TO' Guide for metallographic specimen preparation"
    Thank you to Don Zipperian and Pace Technologies for permission to use this link.
  • For Steel:
    steeluniversity.org
    award-winning, interactive, informative, innovative, integrated and sophisticated e-learning resources on steel technologies
    - Areas of relevance to semester project: Steel Processing, Ferrous Metallurgy

    steeluniversity provides online simulations and games in the fields of steel manufacturing, steel applications, ferrous metallurgy, and steel business.
    Register to create an account and access the simulations, or login to access your account and the play the simulations.
  • For Aluminum:
    aluMATTER
    innovative and interactive e-learning resources for aluminium science and technology.

    Note: active link broken. This link is to the "way-back" machine version.
  • ASM Materials Information
    ASM Handbooks Online, featuring the complete content of twenty-four ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions.
    ASM Alloy Center Online, featuring ASM property data, performance charts, and processing guidelines for specific metals and alloys.
    ASM Micrograph Center Online, with over 3500 micrographs for industrially important alloys.
    ASM Failure Analysis Center Online, with over 1000 case histories and authoritative handbook information on failure mechanisms and analysis methods.
    In addition, the ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center provides access to more than 30,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data.
  • ASTM International Standards
    Provides access to all ASTM standards documents available, including active, redline, historical and withdrawn standards.
  • VPG Micromeasurements Video Library
    Vishay Precision Group, Inc.
    Technical Training Programs (Introductory Video)
  • Metal Material Data Sheets (via Knovel)
    Kipp, Dale O.
    © 2010
    MatWeb - Division of Automation Creation, Inc.
    MatWeb Metal Material Data Sheets contains over 12,000 material data sheets (MDS) for ferrous and nonferrous groups, electronic/magnetic alloy, intermetallic, metal matrix composite and metal foam, mesh or honeycomb. Ferrous includes all varieties of steel and iron. Nonferrous include aluminums, coppers, nickel, zinc, precious metals and other non-iron based alloys. Each group of materials has interactive tables with basic properties in US customary and metric units and MDS in an easy to read format. Most groups have overviews summarizing the properties, processing methods and applications. Most properties in tables and MDS are field searchable, including newly created Processing Method and Appearance fields. MDS can be opened from TOC and from interactive tables. Numeric search, unit conversion and Booleans are available.
  • Smithells Metals Reference Book, Eighth Edition
    W. F Gale and T. C. Totemeier (eds)
    Butterworth-Heinemann
    © 2004
    ISBN:9780750675093
    Providing data on all key aspects of metallic materials, this book offers an extensive bibliography of selected sources, including books, journals, conference series, professional societies, metallurgical databases and specialist search tools.

Other Online Resources

Have you found a useful link?  Please share!

 

Selected Textbook and CRC Handbooks

Cover Art
Fundamentals of Materials Science and Engineering: An Integrated Approach, 3rd ed - Callister, William D. and David G. Rethwisch
Call Number: A&T RESERVE TA403 .C227 2008
ISBN: 9780470125373
Publication Date: 2008
3rd ed.

AccessEngineering
AccessEngineering is an award-winning engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides seamless access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work.

Books 24X7
When you accesses Books24x7 for the first time, you will be asked to register by providing an email address that is part of NCA&T’s domain (either @ncat.edu or @aggies.ncat.edu).
No other personally identifiable information, not even first or last name, will be requested.
You will then have to demonstrate ownership of the NCA&T email address, by retrieving the system-generated password that will be required to login to the service.
You will need to use this login information (email address and password) to gain access to Books24x7 from within the library, on or off campus.

Knovel
electronic resource

MATERIALSnetBASE
electronic resource

POLYMERSnetBASE
electronic resource

NANOnetBASE
electronic resource

Cover Art
Manufacturing Processes and Systems - Phillip F. Ostwald; Jairo Muñoz
Call Number: Via Knovel
ISBN: 9780471047414
Publication Date: 1997
The longest running active book in the field, this edition includes new and updated information on operations planning, quality systems, process automation, operator-machine systems, cost estimating and all the latest technology. Presenting the latest information in the technology of manufacturing, it describes the processes whereby materials are converted into products, without losing sight of the economics involved. It focuses on integration and covers nontraditional processes and powder metallurgy, tool design, computer numerical control, plastic materials and much more.

Cover Art
Core Engineering Concepts for Students and Professionals - Michael R. Lindeburg
Call Number: A&T REF TA151 .L56 2010
ISBN: 9781591261902
Publication Date: 2010

Smithells Metals Reference Book - E. A. Brandes; G. B. Brook
Call Number: A&T REF TN671 .S55 1992
ISBN: 0750610204
Publication Date: 1992
7th edition avaiable via Knovel
8th edition available via Books 24X7

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip