Research & Subject Guides: Industrial and Systems Engineering: Featured Databases

Featured Research Databases, Providers and Vendors

Interdisciplinary Databases

Use these selected databases, providers and vendors to access journal articles, standards, technical reports, and other Industrial & Systems Engineering information .

Interdisciplinary databases are listed through the link above - don't forget about them!

Most databases have links for:

downloading, e-mailing and printing citations and for the full-text articles
APA, Chicago, MLA and Turabian citation styles
Alerting Services
exporting to bibliographic management software.

ASTM International Standards This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all ASTM standards documents available, including Active, Redline, Historical and Withdrawn standards.
Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Applied Science and Technology Source Ultimate provides access to a wide variety of publications focused on scientific, engineering, and technological research, including full text access to about 1500 peer-reviewed journals.
Emerald Insight Journals This link opens in a new window
Contains over 275 titles in the fields of management, information science and engineering including titles such as Management Decision, European Journal of Marketing, Journal of Documentation, Leadership & Organization Development Journal, The TQM Magazine and Industrial Robot.
Engineering Case Studies This link opens in a new window
Engineering Case Studies Online is a single, comprehensive source for a wide range of video and text material focusing on engineering failures and successes. At completion, the collection will contain 250 hours and 50,000 pages of quality documentaries, accident reports, experiments, visualizations, case studies, lectures and interviews from leading engineering institutions around the world.
Engineering Research Database This link opens in a new window
This resource was formerly called CSA Engineering Research Database. Bibliographic coverage of the international serial and non-serial literature for research in civil, earthquake, environmental, mechanical, transportation engineering, forensic engineering, engineering services, education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, mathematics/computation, design, construction, and latest technological developments. ProQuest Deep Indexing: Engineering supplements the database with access to millions of indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature. Part of Materials Science & Engineering Database.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Combined database searching of Compendex, Inspec and NTIS, including deduplication of Compendex and Inspec records. GeoRef, GEOBASE, and Patents have been added to the searching capabilities on a trial basis through October 31, 2024.
Ergonomics Abstracts This link opens in a new window
International abstracting service covering ergonomics and human factors.
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Homeland Security Digital Library is composed of homeland security related documents collected from a wide variety of sources. These include federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies.
SAE Mobilus (formerly SAE Digital Library) This link opens in a new window
Standards, technical papers, books, and journals in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology.
SAI Global Standards Infobase This link opens in a new window
Worldwide engineering standards & specifications. Users will need to register with their North Carolina A&T email address and create an account to use this resource.
Springer LINK This link opens in a new window
Access to journals and ebooks from Springer/Verlag and Birkhauser publications in the fields of biology/biomedicine, chemistry, geosciences, computer sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics, engineering, ecology, and economics. Bluford Library provides access to 2400+ Springer journals and over 32,000 ebooks.

Tips for Searching

When searching in online databases, remember these rules of thumb:

The words you enter determine exactly what results are displayed. To get different results, you must use different words. Think of as many Synonyms for your words as you can and try different combinations.
Fewer Terms = More Results (Start with few terms and then get more complex)
More Search Terms = Fewer Results (Ask for help to design a better search)
Some Databases search two-word phrases always together or near each other (adjacency) and others do not.
Some Databases search more like Google and you may need to add "quotation marks" around you phrases to narrow your search.
Use the "Advanced Search" to build complex searches, connecting your words, phrases, or concepts with "AND" instead of typing complete sentences.
Computers are dumb - They do not understand grammar
Ask for Help via "Ask Us!"

Database Instructions

Here are lists of databases that might help you, organized by category. All of these databases are available for on and off-campus users here or by going through the Library's Home Page at https://www.ncat.edu/library/.

To find these databases from the Library Home Page:

Locate "Find Information Resources"
Click on Browse for Databases by Title or Subject
Click on the letter that is the first letter of the name of your Database
Look in alphabetical order for the name of the Database
Finally, Click on the name of your Database.

Please note: For off-campus access, please sign in by using your username, and your password.

Your username is the one you use for Blackboard or Wi-Fi For example, if your email address is agoodstudent@aggies.ncat.edu:

username: agoodstudent
password: xxxxxxxxxxxx
(same password as for Blackboard or Wi-Fi)