National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
Provides data and research on child development, parenting practices, and family dynamics.
National Center for Family & Marriage Research (NCFMR)
Offers data and research on family structure, marriage, cohabitation, and divorce in the United States.
Institute for Research on Poverty (IRP)
IRP conducts research on poverty, inequality, and social policy, including topics relevant to family and consumer science students such as economic hardship, family dynamics, and social welfare programs.
Council for Economic Education
Conducts research and offers resources and professional development to enhance the teaching of economics and financial literacy in K-12 education.
National Center for Youth Issues (NCYI)
Provides resources and training for educators and youth-serving professionals, with materials that may support teaching life skills such as communication, decision-making, and problem-solving.
Alliance for a Healthier Generation
This organization provides resources and tools to help schools create healthier environments for students. They offer lesson plans and curriculum resources focused on nutrition education and physical activity.
MyPlate (U.S. Department of Agriculture)
Provides nutritional guidance and resources for healthy eating as well as a toolkit for educators.
Offers research-based knowledge from land-grant universities, covering topics like food, health, and family.
HealthyChildren.org (American Academy of Pediatrics)
Offers information and resources on child health and development.
Offers educational resources for teaching baking and other culinary skills.
National Standards for Family and Consumer Sciences Education
Provides standards and competencies for FCS educators to guide curriculum and instruction.
KidsHealth (Nemours Foundation)
Provides information on children’s health, nutrition, and development, valuable for FCS educators.
Next Gen Personal Finance (NGPF)
Provides free financial literacy curriculum, professional development, and resources for educators.
Offers free educational resources, including lesson plans and videos that cover a wide range of life skills
topics.
Provides detailed descriptions of various occupations, including the skills, tasks, and knowledge required, to help students explore different career paths.
An interactive tool for students and job seekers to learn more about career options and what education and skills they need.
Provides science-based information on nutrition and healthy eating, including educational materials and resources for teachers.
American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences
A professional organization dedicated to advancing the field of family and consumer sciences education and practice. AAFCS offers resources, research reports, and networking opportunities for educators, researchers, and professionals in the field.
National Association for Education of Young Children
NAEYC is a leading organization focused on early childhood education, promoting high-quality learning experiences for young children from birth through age eight. They offer resources, professional development opportunities, and advocacy efforts to support educators and caregivers in providing nurturing and developmentally appropriate experiences for young learners.
Council for Exceptional Children
CEC is a professional association dedicated to improving the educational success of individuals with exceptionalities, including those with disabilities and gifted students. They offer resources, professional development, and advocacy to support special education professionals and ensure all students have access to a quality education.
United States Department of Agriculture: National Agricultural Library
NAL serves as the nation's primary resource for agricultural information, offering a vast collection of resources on agriculture, nutrition, food science, and related topics. It provides access to research publications, data sets, and educational materials to support research, education, and extension efforts in the agricultural and food sciences.
American Society for Nutrition
ASN is a leading organization dedicated to advancing the field of nutrition science, promoting research, education, and practice in nutrition and related disciplines. ASN offers publications, conferences, and networking opportunities for nutrition professionals and researchers to share knowledge and collaborate on addressing nutrition-related challenges.
FCS Education, or Family and Consumer Sciences Education, focuses on preparing students for life skills and careers related to family and consumer sciences. It covers a wide range of topics, including nutrition, parenting, consumer economics, and interpersonal relationships, with the goal of empowering individuals and families to lead healthy and fulfilling lives.
National Institute of Food and Agriculture - Division of Family and Consumer Sciences
NIFA - DFCS supports research, education, and extension programs in family and consumer sciences, addressing issues related to human nutrition, family well-being, and consumer economics. It funds grants and initiatives aimed at improving the quality of life for individuals and families through research-based education and outreach.
National Association of Teachers of Family and Consumer Sciences (NATFACS)
NATFACS provides various resources including lesson plans, curriculum guides, and professional development opportunities for FACS teachers.
Council for Economic Education (CEE)
CEE offers a comprehensive collection of resources for teaching economics and personal finance, including lesson plans, games, professional development opportunities, and online courses.
Society for Nutrition Education and Behavior (SNEB)
Offers resources and networking opportunities for those interested in nutrition education.