Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History

This guide contains a webliography of resources to assist with historical research.

Finding Library Books

http://www.library.ncat.edu

Use the Location and Call Number together to find your book. The Location (usually on the left of the screen) will help you figure out what floor to start on. The Call Number (usually in the center of the screen) is how the books are organized on the shelf.

A&T STACKS books with call numbers starting A - L are on the 2nd floor.

A&T STACKS books with call numbers starting M - Z are on the 3rd floor.

A&T BLK STUDIES books are on the 3rd floor in the front.

A&T LRC books are in the Learning Resources Center on the Lower Level.

Some books "do not circulate" or cannot be checked out of the building.

A&T RESERVE books can be gotten at the first floor Circulation desk.

A&T READY REF books can be gotten at the first floor Reference desk.

A&T REF books are just past the Reference desk, on the first floor.

Indexes and Abstracts

To locate articles that are pertinent to your research, you need to use indexes and abstracts to journal and newspaper literature.

Statistical Sources

Statistics provide a factual basis for your ideas. Most of the handbooks and electronic resources listed will give some general statistics. The following resources can provide information on very specific topics, either giving the actual data or listins citations to books, articles, or reports that will have the needed information.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias are also a good place to start, especially if you are unfamiliar with the topic. Articles in encyclopedias are often written by recognized authorities and tend to provide established facts and ideas about the topic, its history, basic theories, and important persons who have written related articles. Also, most encyclopedia articles close with  bibliography that may help you to establish your literature search.

NOTE: When using encyclopedias, first consult the index volume, usully the last volume of the set. This will tell you if your topic has an article devoted entirely to it or if it is discussed within an article on a related subject.

Almnacs, Handbooks and Dicitionaries

Alamanacs are useful statistical and factual sources that have current information on a broad range of topics and subjects. Handbooks and dictionaries can help you throughout your research  by providing quick, factual information that you may need to support your ideas. Dictionaries provide brief entries that are quick and helpful sources for the definition or identification of a term, movement, or person in history.