Skip to Main Content

Curriculum and Instruction

This guide is designed to help you find information on the different aspects of preK-12 Curriculum and Instruction.

Children and Young Adult Literature

Children's and YA literature can be found in several places throughout Bluford Library. Listed below is a small representation of award winning books you can find in these locations.

Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Coretta Scott King Medal

The Coretta Scott King Awards honors African-American authors and illustrators who create outstanding books for children and young adults. Initially  established in 1969 to recognize authors and then expanded to include illustrators in 1979. They are presented annually by the American Library Association.

Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Multicultural Reading List