Research : Social Work and Sociology: Home

Featured Publications by NC A&T Social Work Faculty

Bridging the Gap: Addressing Mental Health Disparities in the African American Community
Wilson, S. L. & Dinnerson, Q. L. (2025). Bridging the Gap: Addressing Mental Health Disparities in the African American Community. In A. El-Amin, K. Tyler, & Q. Marks (Eds.), Building Health, Resiliency, and Unity in the Black Community (pp. 205-240). IGI Global Scientific Publishing. https://doi.org/10.4018/979-8-3373-0827-2.ch009

Culturally responsive trauma-informed care: Addressing racial trauma in Black children, youth, and families
Wilson, S. L., & Dinnerson, Q. (2025). Culturally Responsive Trauma-Informed Care: Addressing Racial Trauma in Black Children, Youth, and Families. Children’s Voice, 34(1), 14.
Navigating resilience: Anti-oppressive social work and the ecological framework for Black children's identity and racialization
Wilson, S. L., Dinnerson, Q. L., & Peoples, A. B. (2025). Navigating Resilience Anti-Oppressive Social Work and the Ecological Framework for Black Children's Identity and Racialization. In M. Hines III (Ed.), The Reclamation of Black Lives Matter in Education (pp. 119-180). IGI Global Scientific Publishing. https://doi.org/10.4018/979-8-3373-0492-2.ch005

Find Articles

Databases Specific to Social Work and Sociology

Social Services Abstracts
This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
Social Work Abstracts
Social Work Abstracts contains information on the fields of social work and human services from 1977 to present. The database provides exceptional coverage of over 500 journals in all areas of the profession, including theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and social problems.
Social Work Online
Social Work Online is a first-of-its-kind resource that pairs recently published social work textbooks along with compelling documentaries clinical demonstration videos, and engaging lectures that illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners. The content is structured around twelve of the most important topics in the social work curriculum, most of which are applicable worldwide.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer is an online research tool that provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The Web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change.
Sociology Source Ultimate
Sociology Source Ultimate provides access to full-text articles covering sociology topics like family issues, relationships, social movements, immigrations, social issues, and more.

Education

ERIC
ERIC is an index for all education topics. ERIC indexes Journal Articles in 1,000 education-related journals. Abstracts are provided. Some full text journal articles are available. ERIC indexes ERIC Documents. These are education materials not published elsewhere, such as curriculum guides, various research reports, and conference papers.

Health and Psychology

CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate is the primary database for the nursing and allied health professions. It includes articles as well as standards of practice, practice acts, government publications, research instruments and patient education materials.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO is the premier resource for finding articles in psychology, behavioral sciences, and related disciplines.
PubMed
PubMed is a database with access to articles in biomedical and life science journals, many of which are full-text.

General, Multi-Subject Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate provides access to full-text articles from a wide variety of disciplines.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches for scholarly documents on the web. If you search via this link, it will show you resources that we have access to at A&T.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (formerly titled Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center) draws on the acclaimed social issues print series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Thomson Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources. The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Opposing Viewpoints in Context's unique features include Viewpoint articles frameworks that allow students to explore each topic's many facets and exclusive electronic access to Thomson Gale's Information Plus series featuring statistics and government data placed in context.
PolicyMap
PolicyMap offers easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US. From the classroom to the boardroom, thousands of organizations trust PolicyMap to find the right data for their research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science
Now titled ISI Web of Knowledge , Web of Science is an academic citation index that covers the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.

Find Books

Browse the Catalog

You may locate physical books or e-book through our catalog. Search the Library Catalog using the gold box Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title. After running your search, select “Books” on the left side of the results page to limit your results to books only.

Additional eBook Databases

eBooks on EBSCOhost
Collection of eBooks covering a variety of subjects, including arts and entertainment, business and economy, computer and internet, education, health, history, government and law, recreation and sports, reference, science and technology, social sciences, and society and culture.
ProQuest Ebook Central
E-books from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas. Users will need to create an account to access remotely.
ProQuest Health & Medical Collection
This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.

Videos on Demand

Academic Video Online

Alexander Street Press Streaming Videos

Films on Demand

Cite Your Sources

APA 7th Citation Style
Any time you use another's work in your research, you need to cite the source with both in-text and reference list citations. American Psychological Association (APA) style is the citation style most commonly used for research in the social sciences. To learn how to cite in APA style, visit the resources linked below:

Purdue Online Writing Online (APA 7th Edition)

Citation Management

Citation managers help you keep track of your research by organizing, sharing, and citing your sources. NCAT offers support for RefWorks.

RefWorks

Quick Guide for Accessing RefWorks using NCAT Credentials
- Go to https://refworks.proquest.com/
- Choose "Use Login from my Institution"
- Search for "North"
- Select "F.D. Bluford Library - North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University"
- Enter your A&T "Institutional email address" and select "Check"
- The next screen should read "Email Sent - Please check your email at yourNCATemail@aggies.ncat.edu and click on the credential association link" [red font only for emphasis - yours will NOT be red]

Evidence-based Research Tools

Conduct a Literature Review

A strong literature review helps define your research focus. Use collected sources to summarize themes, compare findings, and identify gaps in the field.

Use a citation manager like RefWorks to organize your sources
Take notes on methods, populations, and conclusions
Use SRM’s Project Planner for step-by-step structure

Research Methods Support

Use SAGE Research Methods to explore and select the right methodology for your study.

Systematic Review Tools

If you're conducting a systematic review, use the tools below for managing the process and reporting your results.

Covidence

Covidence helps with screening, data extraction, and collaboration during systematic reviews.

PRISMA Guidelines

PRISMA provides a standardized approach for documenting how you searched, screened, and selected sources for your systematic review.