Catalog and Subject HeadingsSuggested BooksDatabasesGovernment DocumentsInternet ResourcesCitations
DatabasesCatalog, Book Subjects and TopicsSuggested Books and eBooksGovernment DocumentsInternet ResourcesCitations
This is the "Books" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History   Tags: hist 599, history, history 599  

This guide contains a webliography of resources to assist with historical research.
Last Updated: Jul 27, 2016 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/history Print Guide RSS Updates

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Library Books

http://www.library.ncat.edu

Use the Location and Call Number together to find your book. The Location (usually on the left of the screen) will help you figure out what floor to start on. The Call Number (usually in the center of the screen) is how the books are organized on the shelf.

A&T STACKS books with call numbers starting A - L are on the 2nd floor.

A&T STACKS books with call numbers starting M - Z are on the 3rd floor.

A&T BLK STUDIES books are on the 3rd floor in the front.

A&T LRC books are in the Learning Resources Center on the Lower Level.

Some books "do not circulate" or cannot be checked out of the building.

A&T RESERVE books can be gotten at the first floor Circulation desk.

A&T READY REF books can be gotten at the first floor Reference desk.

A&T REF books are just past the Reference desk, on the first floor.

 

Indexes and Abstracts

To locate articles that are pertinent to your research, you need to use indexes and abstracts to journal and newspaper literature.

America, history and life
Call Number: A&T REF Z1236 .A485


Historic documents
Call Number: A&T REF E839 .H57

Historical abstracts - E. H. Boehm
Call Number: A&T REF ABSTRACTS D299 .H5

Readers' guide to periodical literature
Call Number: A&T REF INDEXES AI3 .R4

Social sciences index
Call Number: A&T REF AI3 .S62

 

Statistical Sources

Statistics provide a factual basis for your ideas. Most of the handbooks and electronic resources listed will give some general statistics. The following resources can provide information on very specific topics, either giving the actual data or listins citations to books, articles, or reports that will have the needed information.

American statistics index
Call Number: A&T REF ABSTRACTS Z7554.U5 A46
ISBN: 0091-1658

Statistical abstract of the United States
Call Number: A&T READY REF HA202 .A384
ISBN: 0081-4741

Statistical abstract of the world - 1077-1360
Call Number: A&T READY REF HA154 .S68 1996


Statistical handbook on aging Americans - Frank L. Schick
Call Number: A&T REF HQ1064.U5 S738
ISBN: 0897742591


Statistical handbook on violence in America - Adam Dobrin
Call Number: A&T REF HN90.V5 S833 1996
ISBN: 0897749456


Statistical reference index
Call Number: A&T REF ABSTRACTS Z7554.U5 S79
ISBN: 0885-6834


 

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias are also a good place to start, especially if you are unfamiliar with the topic. Articles in encyclopedias are often written by recognized authorities and tend to provide established facts and ideas about the topic, its history, basic theories, and important persons who have written related articles. Also, most encyclopedia articles close with  bibliography that may help you to establish your literature search.

NOTE: When using encyclopedias, first consult the index volume, usully the last volume of the set. This will tell you if your topic has an article devoted entirely to it or if it is discussed within an article on a related subject.



Encyclopedia of American political history - Jack P. Greene
Call Number: A&T REF E183 .E5 1984
ISBN: 0684170035

Encyclopedia of Black America - W. Augustus Low
Call Number: A&T REF E185 .E55
ISBN: 0070388342


Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Southern culture - Charles Reagan Wilson & William Ferris
Call Number: A&T REF F209 .E53 1989
ISBN: 0807818232

Encyclopedia of world biography - David Eggenberger
Call Number: A&T REF CT103 .M27 SUPPL
ISBN: 0910081026

Encyclopedia of world cultures - David Levinson
Call Number: A&T REF GN307 .E53 1991
ISBN: 081688840X

Cover Art
Harvard encyclopedia of American ethnic groups - Stephan Thernstrom
Call Number: A&T REF E184.A1 H35
ISBN: 0674375122

The Oxford encyclopedia of the modern Islamic world - John L. Esposito
Call Number: A&T REF DS35.53 .O95 1995
ISBN: 0195096126


Twentieth-century Britain : an encyclopedia - F.M. Leventhal
Call Number: A&T REF DA566 .T835 1995
ISBN: 0824072057

 

Almnacs, Handbooks and Dicitionaries

Alamanacs are useful statistical and factual sources that have current information on a broad range of topics and subjects. Handbooks and dictionaries can help you throughout your research  by providing quick, factual information that you may need to support your ideas. Dictionaries provide brief entries that are quick and helpful sources for the definition or identification of a term, movement, or person in history.

Cover Art
The African American almanac - Jeffrey Lehman
Call Number: A&T READY REF E185 A37 2003
ISBN: 0787640204

Almanac of famous people
Call Number: A&T REF CT104 .B56
ISBN: 1040-127X

Black abolitionist papers - George E. Carter
Call Number: A&T REF E449 .B625 1981 supp
ISBN: 0667006303


Black saga : the African American experience - Charles M. Christian
Call Number: A&T REF E185 .C519 1995
ISBN: 0395687179

Civilizations of the ancient Near East - Jack M. Sasson
Call Number: A&T REF DS557 .C55 1995
ISBN: 0684192799

Title The Dictionary of national biography : the concise dictionary
Call Number: A&T REF DA28 .D56 v.2, 1982
ISBN: 0198653034

Chronology of the expanding world - Neville Williams
Call Number: A&T REF D209 .W59 1994
ISBN: 0133264068

Chronology of the modern world, 1763 to 1992 - Neville Williams
Call Number: A&T REF D209 .W59 1994b
ISBN: 0133266958

Dictionary of American biography
Call Number: A&T REF E176 .D56 Index

Dictionary of American Negro biography - Rayford W. Logan and Michael R. Winston
Call Number: A&T READY REF E185.96 .D53 1982
ISBN: 0393015130

Cover Art
A dictionary of first names - Patrick Hanks and Flavia Hodges
Call Number: A&T REF CS2367 .H32 1990
ISBN: 0192116517

Great debates in American history - Marion Mills Miller
Call Number: A&T REF E173 .M6.4 1970
ISBN: 0810803860

Great lives from history. Ancient and medieval series - Frank N. Magill
Call Number: A&T REF CT113 .G74 1988
ISBN: 0893565458

Great lives from history. Renaissance to 1900 series - Frank N. Magill
Call Number: A&T REF CT104 .G68 1989
ISBN: 0893565512

Great lives from history. Twentieth century series - Frank N. Magill
Call Number: A&T REF CT120 .G69 1990
ISBN: 0893565652

Great Negroes, past and present - Russell L. Adams
Call Number: A&T REF E185.96 .A4 1964

The historical and cultural atlas of African Americans - Molefi K. Asante
Call Number: A&T REF E185 .A8 1991
ISBN: 0028970217


The microbook library of American civilization
Call Number: A&T REF Z1236 .L5 1971

Who was who in America
Call Number: A&T REF E176 .W64

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip