This is the "Home" page of the "SciFinder" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SciFinder  

Last Updated: Sep 29, 2017 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/content.php?pid=51452 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

How to Register and Access

  • Registration Form
    Each user must register for a SciFinder account. The registration form allows you to create your own username and password. However, you must use your ncat.edu email account to register. It takes about a day to get this process completed.
  • SciFinder Scholar
    Contains scientific information in journals and patent literature from around the world, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, material science, and agricultural science. Patrons are required to register for an account with a valid North Carolina A&T email address.

Summary

  • Summary
    SciFinder is the expanded electronic version of Chemical Abstracts. It allows users to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific disciplines including chemistry and biology. It provides references from more than 10,000 currently published j
 

Welcome

Sci Finder is the Web version of Chemical Abstracts.

Sci Finder is listed under the letter "S" databases at the library's homepage.

Alternately, use the link to the left to Access.

Coverage

SciFinder is composed of six databases and covers literature from the late 19th century to present in the following fields:chemistry, chemical engineering,biochemistry,geochemistry, agricultural chemistry,biomedical and medicinal chemistry, biotechnology, materials science,organic and inorganic chemistry, pharmacology, toxicology, environmental scienceand wastemanagement.

The six databases making up SciFinder include:

 CAplus - literature database

CA Registry Numbers - physical property data, and structure diagrams

CASREACT - reaction data

CHEMCATS - chemical source data 

CHEMLIST - regulatory chemical information

Medline - the Medline database includes OLDMEDLINE, and covers biomedical literature from more than 4,780 journals and 70 countries.

Chemport: Connecting to full-text documents

Some of the subjects covered at this site are: engineering/applied chemistry, general chemistry, physics, biology & life sciences, medical sciences, polymer sciences, material sciences, geological sciences, food sciences and agricultural sciences.

      

    University Library Specialist

    Profile Image
    Clifton Sawyerr
    Contact Info
    Reference Department
    Bluford Library
    NC A&T State University
    Greensboro
    North Carolina 27411
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip