Research & Subject Guides: Physics: Home

Find Scholarly Articles

Scholarly or academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals. To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below.

If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free through Interlibrary Loan.

Best Bet Databases for Physics:

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of peer-reviewed journals covering science, technology and medicine.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Now titled ISI Web of Knowledge , Web of Science is an academic citation index that covers the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Science This link opens in a new window
Science has published the very best in research about the sciences since 1880. Some of its articles rank among the most cited in the world. The Science family of journals is published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the worlds oldest and largest general science organization. Bluford Library has access to Science from 1997-present.

General, Multi-Subject Databases:

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides access to full-text articles from a wide variety of disciplines.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate provides access to full-text articles from a wide variety of disciplines.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches for scholarly documents on the web. If you search via this link, it will show you resources that we have access to at A&T.

Find Books

Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books in our catalog below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title. After you search select "Books" on the left side of the page to limit your results to only books.

Library Catalog Search
Search the Bluford Library's catalog using the gold box in the center of the page.

Cite Your Sources

Any time you use another's work in your research, you need to cite the source with both in-text and reference list citations. American Psychological Association (APA) style is the citation style most commonly used for research at N.C. A&T. To learn how to cite in APA style, visit the resource linked below.

American Psychological Association (APA) Style Guide
The Purdue Online Writing Lab provides a comprehensive guide to formatting a paper and citing sources in APA style.

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
Refworks is a citation management tool that allows you to directly import articles and other sources, annotate them, and create bibliographies. Refworks supports many different citation styles including the American Institute of Physics style. Before using Refworks for the first time, you will need to create an account using your ncat.edu email address.