Research & Subject Guides: Mathematics: Home

Find Scholarly Articles

Best Bet Databases for Mathematics:

American Mathematical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Bluford Library subscribes to Conformal Geometry and Dynamics, Representation Theory, and Transactions of the American Mathematical Society. In addition, free archives are available for all other titles, and the site contains four entirely open access journals.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Evaluative reviews and abstracts of the international research literature in mathematics, computer science, statistics, econometrics, and applications in areas such as physics, engineering, biology, and information systems.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Combined database searching of Compendex, Inspec and NTIS, including deduplication of Compendex and Inspec records. GeoRef, GEOBASE, and Patents have been added to the searching capabilities on a trial basis through October 31, 2024.
Springer LINK This link opens in a new window
Access to journals and ebooks from Springer/Verlag and Birkhauser publications in the fields of biology/biomedicine, chemistry, geosciences, computer sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics, engineering, ecology, and economics. Bluford Library provides access to 2400+ Springer journals and over 32,000 ebooks.

General, Multi-Subject Databases:

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides access to full-text articles from a wide variety of disciplines.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate provides access to full-text articles from a wide variety of disciplines.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches for scholarly documents on the web. If you search via this link, it will show you resources that we have access to at A&T.

Find Books

Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books in our catalog below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title. After you search select "Books" on the left side of the page to limit your results to only books.

Library Catalog Search
Search the Bluford Library's catalog using the gold box in the center of the page.

MATLAB

MATLAB software is subscribed by the University through ITS.

Any NCAT faculty and student can set up an account in the Math Works website with a valid NCAT email account and get verified by the Math Works. Use this link to register with your NCAT email address.

Once you have received the validation email from MathWorks, you can download the Academic version of the Matlab, Simulink and State Flow as well as subscribed toolboxes from the MathWorks website.

Additional support for MATLAB and associated MathWorks products can be found here https://www.mathworks.com/academia/tah-portal/north-carolina-a-t-state-university-30690259.html

Cite Your Sources

Any time you use another's work in your research, you need to cite the source with both in-text and reference list citations. American Psychological Association (APA) style is the citation style most commonly used for research at N.C. A&T. To learn how to cite in APA style, visit the resource linked below.

The American Mathematical Society has their own preferred style for citations. Their style guide is also found at the link below.

American Psychological Association (APA) Style Guide
The Purdue Online Writing Lab provides a comprehensive guide to formatting a paper and citing sources in APA style.
American Mathematical Society Citation Style Guide
The American Mathematical Society provides a guide for citing your sources for publication in an AMS Journal.
RefWorks
Use this link to sign up for RefWorks. ProQuest RefWorks is an easy to use, cloud based citation management tool, which will help you organize your citations and PDFs, and enable you to cite your sources within your papers quickly and easily.