Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Planet of Slums

The Planet of Slums by Mike Davis is the 2011-12 Text-In-Community Selection for North Carolina A&T State University

Reports

Articles

  • Population Information Program, Center for Communication Programs, The Johns Hopkins Bloomburg School of Public Health, Meeting the Urban Challenge, Population Reports, vol. 30, no.4, Baltimore 2002 (Fall), p.1 Click for Full Text
  • Lutz, Wolfgang, and Warren Sanderson. "Doubling of world population unlikely." Nature 387.6635 (1997): 803. Click for Full Text
  • Garza, Gustavo. "Global Economy, Metropolitan Dyanmics and Urban Policies in Mexico," Cities 16:3 (1999), 154. Click for Full Text 
  • Geert, Custers. "Inner-City Rental Housing in Lima: A Portayal and an Explanation," Cities 18:4 (2001), 252. Click for Full Text
  • Seong-Kyu Ha. "The Urban Poor, Rental Accomodations, Housing Policy in Korea," Cities 19:3 (2002), 197-98. Click for Full Text
  • Bayat A. "Un-civil society: The politics of the `informal people'". Third World Quarterly 18:1 (1997), 53-72.  Click for Full Text   
  • Thuillier, Guy. "Gated Communities in the Metropolitan Area of Buenos Aires," Housing Studies 20:2 (2005), 255. Click for Full Text 
  • Harris, Richard and Malak Wahba. "The Urban Geography of Low-Income Housing: Cairo (1947-96) Exemplifies a Model, " International Journal of Urban and Regional Research 26:1 (2002), 59. Click For Full Text
  • Satterthwaite, David. "Environmental Transformation in Cities as They Get Larger, Wealthier, and Better Managed," The Geogrphical Journal 162:2 (1997), 217. Click For Full Text 
  • Andreasson, Stefan. "Economic Reforms and 'Virtual Democracy' in South Africa," Journal of Comtemporary African Studies 21:3 (2003), 385. Click for Full Text
  • Devisch, Rene. "Frenzy, Violence, and Ethical Renewal in Kinshasa," Public Culture 7:3 (1995), 603. Click for Full Text
  • Thomas, Troy S. "Slumlords: Aeorspace Power in Urban Fights," Aeropsoace Power Journal (Spring 2002), 1-15. Click for Full Text
  • Hendricxson, Anne. "Angry Young Men, Veiled Young Women: Constructing a New Population Threat," Corner House Briefing 34 (2004) Click for Full Text
  • Davis, Mike. "The Urbanization of Empire: Megazities and The Laws of Chaos," Social Text 81 22:4 (2004), 9-15. Click for Full Text