Research & Subject Guides: Entrepreneurship: Company Research

Clients or Competition: You Decide

How a company relates to other companies in their industry as well as upstream and downstream is an important issue in the success of a business.

Whether you are researching upstream sources in the supply chain, developing lists of potential B2B clients/customers, or gathering intelligence on your competitive landscape, it is critical to be able to research other companies.

Use these tools to find out more about companies no matter what role they play in your business plan.

Database Instructions

Here are lists of databases that might help you, organized by category. All of these databases are available for on and off-campus users here or by going through the Library's Home Page at http://www.library.ncat.edu.

To find these databases from the Library Home Page:

Choose the Databases tab from the Library home page
Click Browse Databases by Title
Look in alphabetical order for the name of the database, as listed to the left.

Please note: For off-campus access use your AggieOne ID username, and your BlackBoard password.

Company and Industry Databases

These databases present company and industry descriptions. Some focus more on qualitative information like description, market share, history, and so on. Others emphasize quantitative information and financials. To get a full picture of the company you're interested in you may want to look at it in several databases. For off-campus access, use your Banner ID number.

Hoover's Company Records (now part of Business Market Research Collection) This link opens in a new window
This database contains proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover"s, widely recognized as a leader in company data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company"s location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers and more.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Full text information on over 10,000 U.S. public companies and over 15,000 non-U.S. companies. Includes company history, officers, subsidiaries, financial data, and annual reports. Access to SEC filings (EDGAR) back to 1993. Also includes Company Archives, with information on over 4,000 public companies that were acquired, went bankrupt or merged out of existence from 1995 onward.
ReferenceUSA This link opens in a new window
Source of information on businesses and people for researchers, students, job seekers and government agencies. Information is compiled from the following public sources: more than 5,600 Yellow Page and Business White Page telephone directories; annual reports, 10-Ks and other SEC information; Continuing Medical Education (CME) directories; federal, state, provincial and municipal government data; Chamber of Commerce information; leading business magazines, trade publications, newsletters, major newspapers, industry and specialty directories; and postal service information, including both U.S. and Canadian National Change of Address updates.
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage This link opens in a new window
Source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poors independent research, data and commentary on stocks, bonds, funds, and industries.
Valueline This link opens in a new window
Includes Value Line's publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.