Research & Subject Guides: Landscape Architecture: Research Databases

Aggie GOLD Search

Aggie Gold Search

Don't Know Where to Start? Use Aggie GOLD Search. AGS searches books and articles simulataneously and is a good place to start.

Google Scholar

Beginning Your Database Search

Begin your research with these databases/vendors and providers which are accessible through the library homepage tabs for "Databases" and "eJournals". Check each database for alerting, blog, facebook, RSS and YouTube™ features. provides full-text articles through another database/provider or may indicate no database access.

Most databases have links for:

downloading, e-mailing and printing citations and for the full-text articles
APA, Chicago, MLA and Turabian citation styles
Alerting Services
exporting to bibliographic management software.

Interdisciplinary Databases

These databases include articles from every discipline. From art to zoology, teaching to technology, you can find a little bit on any topic by using these research tools.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate provides access to full-text articles from a wide variety of disciplines.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is delivers more than 67,000 streaming video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investment.
Emerald Insight Journals This link opens in a new window
Contains over 275 titles in the fields of management, information science and engineering including titles such as Management Decision, European Journal of Marketing, Journal of Documentation, Leadership & Organization Development Journal, The TQM Magazine and Industrial Robot.
Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year and thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is an online collection of educational videos available for streaming. Subjects include anthropology, archival films & newsreels, area studies, art & architecture, biology, business & economics, careers & job search, communication, computers & technology, criminal justice, earth science, education, English & language arts, environmental science, family & consumer sciences, geography, guidance & counseling, health & medicine, history, mathematics, music & dance, philosophy & religion, physical science, political science, psychology, sociology, technical education, and world languages.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR project seeks to develop online access to the full back files of selected journals. The database contains a digitized image of every page and is searchable by every word.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic Universe) This link opens in a new window
This flagship service provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. LexisNexis Academic provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic research needs, including: National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information; Shepards Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (formerly titled Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center) draws on the acclaimed social issues print series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Thomson Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources. The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Opposing Viewpoints in Context's unique features include Viewpoint articles frameworks that allow students to explore each topic's many facets and exclusive electronic access to Thomson Gale's Information Plus series featuring statistics and government data placed in context.
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Online access to journals from Oxford University Press.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 280 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. Topics covered include: affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, HIV/AIDS status disclosure, immigration, Iraq, Israel & the Palestinians, Katrina and FEMA response, nuclear proliferation, separation of church and state, standardized testing, stem cell research, tax cuts, voting machines, and many more.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Currently, Project MUSE Premium Collection offers 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides access to full-text articles from a wide variety of disciplines.
Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a database with access to articles in biomedical and life science journals, many of which are full-text.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. It is a subset of PubMed.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE publishes over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of peer-reviewed journals covering science, technology and medicine.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Now titled ISI Web of Knowledge , Web of Science is an academic citation index that covers the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
A resource for quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific, technical, medical and professional endeavors. Features content from more than 2,500 journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and The Cochrane Library, which is the world's best-known resource for evidence-based medicine. More than half of Wiley's journals on Wiley InterScience are digitized back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A catalog of records for all type of materials located in libraries throughout the world. This is now integrated into Aggie GOLD Search.

Selected Arts & Architectural Databases

Art & Architecture Complete

Design & Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
This database is the premier source of information for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items from 1973 to the present.