Research : Physician Assistant Studies: Home

Find Scholarly Articles

Use the resources below to find scholarly books and articles that support your research. These materials provide credible, in-depth information written by experts in their fields.

Scholarly, or academic, articles present original research on a specific, focused topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and published in academic journals, ensuring the credibility and reliability of the research.

To locate articles on your topic, use keywords to search within one of the databases listed below.

If the article you need is not available in full text, you can request it for free through Interlibrary Loan.

Databases Specific to Physician Assistant Studies

AccessEmergency Medicine
AccessEmergency Medicine is an online resource from offering textbooks, procedural videos, self-assessment tools, drug information, and patient education materials for emergency medicine. It supports learning for students and residents, provides point-of-care information
AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine is a comprehensive online medical resource designed to support students, residents, and practicing clinicians. It provides a wide range textbooks, including core medical references, along with procedural videos, interactive case studies, and self-assessment tools. The platform also offers drug information and patient education materials, making it a one-stop resource for learning, clinical decision-making, and board exam preparation.
AccessNeurology
AccessNeurology is a specialized resource for students, residents, and healthcare professionals focusing on neurology. It features authoritative textbooks, detailed videos, clinical cases, and self-assessment tools to support learning, clinical decision-making, and board exam preparation. The platform allows users to explore complex neurological concepts, review patient cases, and strengthen both knowledge and practical skills.
AccessSurgery
AccessSurgery is an extensive surgical education platform tailored for students, residents, and practicing surgeons. It includes key surgical textbooks, high-quality procedural videos, interactive cases, and review questions to reinforce learning. Users can explore surgical techniques, prepare for exams, or enhance clinical skills with content designed to mirror real-world practice. The platform provides accessible, evidence-based resources to support surgical education and professional growth.
CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate is the primary database for the nursing and allied health professions. It includes articles as well as standards of practice, practice acts, government publications, research instruments and patient education materials.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey is an online medical resource that provides healthcare professionals and students with up-to-date, evidence-based information. It includes full-text access to many e-books and Elsevier journals, as well as clinical overviews, guidelines, drug monographs, clinical calculators, patient education materials, images, multimedia, and procedure videos. The platform also offers MEDLINE indexing and abstracts, giving users access to a wide range of published health sciences literature. Users can search for information on diseases, treatments, and clinical procedures, track citations, and access high quality images for presentations.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases including Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
PubMed
PubMed is a database with access to articles in biomedical and life science journals, many of which are full-text.
Rehabilitation Sports Medicine Source
Rehabilitation and Sports Medicine Source contains 83 unique full text journals. The database covers a broad range of rehabilitation and sports medicine topics including orthopedics, physiology, nutrition, sports exercise, physical therapy and more.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
SPORTDiscus is an international database of literature on sports, sports medicine, physical fitness, exercise, and physical education.
Visible Body
Visible Body is an interactive 3D anatomy and physiology tool that lets you explore the human body in detail. Rotate, zoom, and dissect models of bones, muscles, organs, and body systems. *IMPORTANT* To get started, log in to the Visible Body Web Suite and create an account. You can do this by signing in through NCAT’s Single Sign-On (SSO) or while connected to NCAT’s Wi-Fi network. Once your account is created, you can access the Web Suite from any computer, on or off campus.
Wiley Online Library
A resource for quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific, technical, medical and professional endeavors. Features content from more than 2,500 journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and The Cochrane Library, which is the world's best-known resource for evidence-based medicine. More than half of Wiley's journals on Wiley InterScience are digitized back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

General, Multi-Subject Databases

ERIC
ERIC is an index for all education topics. ERIC indexes Journal Articles in 1,000 education-related journals. Abstracts are provided. Some full text journal articles are available. ERIC indexes ERIC Documents. These are education materials not published elsewhere, such as curriculum guides, various research reports, and conference papers.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches for scholarly documents on the web. If you search via this link, it will show you resources that we have access to at A&T.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (formerly titled Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center) draws on the acclaimed social issues print series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Thomson Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources. The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Opposing Viewpoints in Context's unique features include Viewpoint articles frameworks that allow students to explore each topic's many facets and exclusive electronic access to Thomson Gale's Information Plus series featuring statistics and government data placed in context.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO is the premier resource for finding articles in psychology, behavioral sciences, and related disciplines.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science
Now titled ISI Web of Knowledge , Web of Science is an academic citation index that covers the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.

Additional Databases

Other Available Databases
Access all of Bluford Library's online databases to find scholarly articles, e-books, and other research resources.

Full Books and e-Books

You can explore both physical books and e-books in our catalog below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title. After running your search, select “Books” on the left side of the results page to limit your results to books only.

Search the Library Catalog using the Gold box in the center of the page.

Additional eBook Databases

ProQuest Ebook Central
E-books from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas. Users will need to create an account to access remotely.
ProQuest Health & Medical Collection
This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.

Cite Your Sources

AMA 11th Edition Citation Guide

Purdue OWL AMA Writing Style

Citation Management

Citation managers help you keep track of your research by organizing, sharing, and citing your sources. NCAT offers support for RefWorks.

RefWorks

Quick Guide for Accessing RefWorks using NCAT Credentials
- Go to https://refworks.proquest.com/
- Choose "Use Login from my Institution"
- Search for "North"
- Select "F.D. Bluford Library - North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University"
- Enter your A&T "Institutional email address" and select "Check"
- The next screen should read "Email Sent - Please check your email at yourNCATemail@aggies.ncat.edu and click on the credential association link" [red font only for emphasis - yours will NOT be red]

Evidence Based Research Tools

Conduct a Literature Review

A strong literature review helps define your research focus. Use collected sources to summarize themes, compare findings, and identify gaps in the field.

Use a citation manager like RefWorks to organize your sources
Take notes on methods, populations, and conclusions
Use SRM’s Project Planner for step-by-step structure

Research Methods Support

Use SAGE Research Methods to explore and select the right methodology for your study.

Systematic Review Tools

If you're conducting a systematic review, use the tools below for managing the process and reporting your results.

Covidence

Covidence helps with screening, data extraction, and collaboration during systematic reviews.

PRISMA Guidelines

PRISMA provides a standardized approach for documenting how you searched, screened, and selected sources for your systematic review.

Professional Organizations

The Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant (ARC-PA)
The Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant (ARC-PA) is the accrediting agency that protects the interests of the public and PA profession by defining the standards for PA education and evaluating PA educational programs within the territorial United States to ensure their compliance with those standards.
American Academy of Physician Assistants
Founded in 1968, the American Academy of Physician Associates (AAPA) is the national professional society for PAs (physician associates/physician assistants). It represents a profession of nearly 190,000 PAs across all medical and surgical specialties in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, U.S. territories, and the uniformed services.
National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA)
NCCPA is the only certifying organization for PAs in the United States. Established as a not-for-profit organization in 1974, NCCPA provides certification programs that reflect standards for clinical knowledge, clinical reasoning and other medical skills and professional behaviors required upon entry into practice and throughout the careers of PAs.
National Society of Black Physician Assistants
We are here to create a culturally responsible Physician Assistant workforce that adequately represents the diversity found in our world, and focuses on eradication of health disparities, especially in Black communities.
North Carolina Academy of Physician Assistants (NCAPA)
The North Carolina Academy of Physician Assistants is the voice of PAs in North Carolina.
Through our collective efforts, PAs are now recognized as a vital resource for the treatment of patients in North Carolina. NCAPA membership includes full-and part-time practicing PAs, retired PAs, PA educators, PA students, as well as NPs and others interested in supporting the PA profession.
North Carolina Medical Board (NCMB)
The Board consists of 13 members – 11 appointed by the Governor and two appointed by the General Assembly upon the recommendations of the Speaker and President Pro Tempore. Eight of the 13 are licensed physicians, one is a licensed physician assistant (PA), one is an approved nurse practitioner (NP), and three are members of the public with no financial or professional interest in a health service or profession.
North Carolina Medical Society
The North Carolina Medical Society (NCMS) is a professional organization representing physicians and medical professionals in the state of North Carolina, United States. It was founded in 1849 and has since played a crucial role in advancing healthcare and advocating for the interests of medical professionals and patients.
Physician Assistant Education Association
PAEA provides faculty development and offers leadership and research opportunities as well as recognition.
Physician Assistant History Society (PAHx)
Dedicated to the history and legacy of the physician assistant profession

Quick Links

Interlibrary Loan
If the article you need is not available in full text, you can request it for free through Interlibrary Loan.
Library Catalog
Explore the library catalog by searching entering keywords into the Gold search box.
Workshop Registration (Employee)
Sign-up for library workshops through the Professional Development Portal
Workshop Registration (Students)
Register for an online workshop that helps enhance your teaching and research skills.