This library guide is designed to support first-year English students in ENGL 100 and 101 at North Carolina A&T State University as they complete an annotated bibliography assignment. Whether you’re just starting your research or polishing your final draft, this guide will walk you through each step of the process—from developing a research question and finding credible sources to writing clear, thoughtful annotations in MLA format.
Use this guide to:
Learn how to search library databases for scholarly sources
Evaluate information using critical thinking strategies
Format citations and annotations correctly
Access helpful tools and get research help when you need it
What Is an Annotated Bibliography?
An annotated bibliography is a list of sources (books, articles, websites, etc.) that includes:
Citation (in MLA format, unless otherwise instructed)
Annotation — a brief summary and evaluation of each source
Your task: Find relevant, credible sources on your topic and explain how each one helps develop your argument or research question.
Step 1: Understand Your Topic and Assignment
Before you start researching:
Read the assignment prompt carefully. Make note of required source types, citation style (usually MLA), number of entries, and length of annotations.
Clarify your research focus. What question are you trying to answer? What do you already know? What do you want to learn?
How many sources do you need for this assignment?
What type of sources do you need? (Example: Popular sources or Scholarly Sources)
What citation style is required for this assignment?
When is your assignment due?
Step 2: Do a Preliminary Search and Read Background Information
This is the exploration phase of your research. It helps you narrow your topic, better understand the conversation around it, and identify useful keywords.
To get a general understanding of your topic
To narrow your focus (too broad: “climate change”; better: “climate change and food security in urban communities”)
To discover related terms and concepts that appear in articles and headlines
Library Databases: Try Opposing Viewpoints, Gale eBooks, or Credo Reference for overview articles
Library Catalog for books and eBooks on broad themes
Google Scholar or even Wikipedia (as a starting point only—not for citation)
Tip: As you read, jot down keywords and phrases that repeat. These are your building blocks for deeper searching.
Example Keyword Map for “Gun Violence and Youth”:
Step 3: Search for and Select Sources
Now that you’ve identified a narrower focus and useful terms, you’re ready to do deeper, more strategic searching.
| Tool | Best For | |
|---|---|---|
| Library Search (Primo) | Articles, books, media | |
| Academic Search Ultimate | Peer-reviewed & magazine articles | |
| Opposing Viewpoints | Pro/con arguments, stats, overviews | |
| ProQuest Research Library | Broad academic database | |
| JSTOR | Humanities and social science articles |
Use quotation marks for phrases: "climate justice"
Combine terms with AND/OR: "gun control" AND legislation AND youth
Filter results by date, source type, or peer-reviewed
Make sure each source is credible and relevant to your topic.
Ask:
Who wrote it? (Expertise, credentials?)
When was it published? (Is it current or still relevant?)
What kind of source is it? (Scholarly article? News report?)
Why was it written? (Inform, persuade, sell?)
How will you use it in your project?
Each entry in your annotated bibliography should include:
Citation – in MLA format
Summary – main argument or findings
Evaluation – strengths, credibility, reliability
Reflection – how you will use it in your paper
MLA Example:
Before you turn it in:
Proofread for clarity and grammar
Make sure citations are alphabetized and formatted with a hanging indent
Ensure each annotation is 100–150 words and includes all three components