Skip to Main Content

FCS: Child Development Laboratory @ NCAT

This guide is designed to provide valuable resources to faculty, teachers, staff, and students involved with the Child Development Lab at NCA&T University.

OER Resource List

  • ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)

    • A digital library of education research and information, including journal articles, research reports, and conference papers relevant to child development and early childhood education. Useful for finding research methodologies and studies on preschool children.

  • Google Scholar

    • Provides a freely accessible search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across various disciplines, including child development research. Useful for locating research articles and methodologies.

  • Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)

    • An index of open-access theses and dissertations from around the world, covering various educational research topics, including child development and preschool education. Includes research methodologies and case studies.

  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

    • Provides open access to high-quality, peer-reviewed journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and humanities, including child development and preschool research. Includes articles on research methodologies and practices.

  • JSTOR Open Content

    • Provides open access to a selection of journals, ebooks, and research reports in various disciplines, including child development and early childhood education. Useful for finding historical and current research studies.

  • Digital Library of the Commons (DLC)

    • A repository of full-text articles, working papers, and research reports related to the commons, including educational and child development research. Includes research methodologies and practical guides.

  • Project Gutenberg

    • Offers free access to over 60,000 ebooks, including classic literature and educational texts that may be relevant to child development research. Useful for background research and theoretical frameworks.

  • OpenStax CNX

    • A platform for open educational resources, including textbooks, modules, and learning materials across various subjects, including child development and early childhood education. Includes resources on research methodologies.

  • MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching)

    • Provides a curated collection of open educational resources, including textbooks, simulations, and multimedia learning materials, with a specific section for child development and early childhood education. Includes research methodologies and practical tools.

  • ZERO TO THREE

    • Offers resources, articles, and webinars focusing on early childhood development, particularly for children aged birth to three years. Includes practical guides and research tools for studying young children.

  • National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)

    • Provides resources, articles, and research materials for early childhood educators and researchers, including those focusing on child development and preschool education. Includes research methodologies and ethical guidelines.

  • Research Connections

    • Provides a comprehensive collection of research resources related to child care and early education, including datasets, research articles, and tools for conducting research on children in preschool settings.

  • Harvard Graduate School of Education - Usable Knowledge

    • Offers research insights and practical advice for educators and researchers, including articles and guides on conducting research in early childhood education settings.

  • Early Childhood Research & Practice (ECRP)

    • An online journal that provides scholarly articles on the development, care, and education of young children. Includes research studies and methodologies.