This is the "Archives & Special Collections" page of the "World War I - The Great War" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Resources from the F. D. Bluford Library and the best of online instructional resources and digital collections to celebrate the Centennial of World War I.
Last Updated: Jan 2, 2018 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/wwi Print Guide RSS Updates

Archives & Special Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Collection Boxes


World War I Collection NEW!! - Materials related to known faculty members, alumni, and events associated with A&T's role in the Great War.

James B. Dudley Collection - Dr. Dudley was our 2nd president (1896-1925) and his leadership kept the campus through the conflict.

ROTC Army & ROTC Air Force Collections - Newspaper clippings, original letters and more about the history of the ROTC at A&T.

Warmoth T. Gibbs Collection - Dr. Warmoth T. Gibbs was the 4th president of A&T (1956 - 1960) and one of our most famous war veterans.

John D. Wray Collection - John D. Wray was the first African-African American state agricultural club agent in NC. His collection was digitized as part of the "Better Living in North Carolina" project.

 

Verticle File Collection

Verticle Files are collections of clippings, photographs and other documents that are part of a larger subject file collection. We have several on faculty (F/S) and alumni (A) who served in World War I.

Campbell, Robert L(F/S) One of the most decorated African-American veterans of the war and a long-time military instructor at A&T. A photo file and a "Campbell Hall" file are also available.

Love, George B. (F/S) - Instructor of auto mechanics who served in France. 

Cherry, David King (F/S) - Professor of mathematics, later the president of Kittrell College and Knoxville College. Served as a captain in France.

Byarm Sr., Lonnie P. (F/S) - Engineering instructor and one or our first championship football coaches.

Jones, Dr. S. B. (F/S) - One of our earliest college physicians who served in his native British West Indies. Photo file also available.

Haley, Simon A. (A) - Father of author & genealogist Alex Haley. Served in France during the war. 

Burnett, Foster F.. (A) - Class of 09' student who became a well known physician after the war. 

 

From Special Collections

Lt. George B. Love (1890 - 1961) and Lt. Robert L. Campbell (1875-1972) In uniform.

Love and Campbell were both instructors at A&T when called to duty in 1917.

    Lest We Forget: WWI through the Eyes of Nine

    For more about Greensboro NC in the WWI and the life of Capt. Robert L. Campbell please visit this exhibit at the Greensboro Historical Museum.

        
       

      Rare Books


      Scott's official history of the American Negro in the world war - Scott, Emmett J.
      Call Number: D639.N4 S3 1969
      Publication Date: 1919 [1969 Arno & New York Times Edition]

      Cover Art
      A School for Diplomats - Clifford R. Lovin
      Call Number: D644 .L68 1997
      ISBN: 9780761807551
      Publication Date: 1997-05-29

      Who's who in colored America. - Who's Who in Colored America Corp.
      Call Number: E185.96 .W54
      Publication Date: 1927 -
      The following editions of this rare biographical encyclopedia are available in archives: 1928-29, 1930-32, 1933-37, 1941-44 1930-32, 1950. Includes biographies of several war veterans.

      Samuel Cooper Smith : the early years 1900-1940 and biographical sketch - Smith, Samuel Cooper; Randolph, Rhoda Person
      Call Number: LA2317.S627 A3 1994
      Publication Date: 1994
      A transcribed recollection from one of A&T's most famous alumni. He recalls his brother serving in France, and of life in one of the campus barracks, which served as a dormitory after WWI.

      A history of the National Alumni Association of the North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, 1891-1984, Greensboro, North Carolina - Butler, Evelyn M.
      Call Number: LC2851.N8 B88 1988
      Publication Date: 1988
      This unique history of our alumni association includes a few mini biographies of notable WWI veterans.

      Cover Art
      A History of the U. S. Army Nurse Corps - Mary T. Sarnecky
      Call Number: UH493 .S27 1999
      ISBN: 9780812235029
      Publication Date: 1999-10-04
      Also available in stacks. Includes a 52 page chapter on World War I.

       

      University Archives

      The University Archives procures, organizes, collects, describes, maintains and preserves records of historical and administrative value to the university and that have significantly impacted upon the African American experience in the Piedmont Triad region.

      Location

      Room 201, Second Floor, F.D. Bluford Library

      Hours

      Monday–Friday, 8am-5pm
      Closed when the library is closed, see here for more information

       

      Contact Us

      James R. Stewart Jr.

      Archives & Special Collections Librarian

      Edward Lee Love

      University Archives Specialist

      libraryarchives@ncat.edu

      336.285.4176

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip