Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Susan B. Dudley

The guide provides highlights on the life and contributions of Susan B. Dudley, community leader, educator, dramatist, and spouse of A & T second president, James B. Dudley

Primary and Secondary Sources

Bibliography

Bashir, Catherine W., and Janet K. Seapker. "Sampson, James (1806-1861). North Carolina Architects and Builders: A Biographical Dictionary, 2013. Accessed March 19, 2019.https://ncarchitects.lib.ncsu.edu/people/P000541.

Browning, James B. "James D. Sampson." Negro History Bulletin, 1940. Accessed March 19, 2019. https://ncfpc.files.wordpress.com/2013/03/sampson-negro-history-bulletin-1940.jpg

Jones, Juanita DaLomba. The Life and Works of Mrs. Susan B. Dudley. Unpublished Master's Thesis., The North Carolina Agricultural and Technical College, 1951.

Spruill, Albert W. "Alma Mater's Greatest First Lady." In Great Recollections from Aggieland, a Human Interest Account of the Development of the Agricultural and Technical College of North Carolina from 1893-1960, 17-18. Whitehead Print. Company, 1964.

Author Unknown, James Patterson Sampson."The Rising Sun", 28-29. date unknown. Accessed March 19, 2019 from the African American Biographical Database. 

Falkener, Cameron. "The Dudley Property on Dudley Street Survives." Carolina Peacemaker, January 16, 2003.

"Letter from Caroline Sadgwar Manly to Her Sons." Caroline Sadgwar Manly to Milo and Lewin. August 23, 1955. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Source: East Carolina University Digital Collection, https://digital.lib.ecu.edu/39017#?c=0&m=0&s=0&cv=0&xywh=-18%2C-293%2C4693%2C4818

Warlick, Kenneth. "Dudley, James Benson." Dictionary of North Carolina Biography. Edited by William S. Powell, 1986. Source: NCpedia, Access March 20, 2019 

Stewart, Shavon. "Dudley, Susan Wright Sampson (Susie B.)." Dictionary of North Carolina Biography. 2019. Source: NCpedia.