It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Outlining the symptoms and possible causes of schizophrenia, clinical depression, and bipolar disorder, this program explores various treatment options and identifies ways that patients can achieve personal independence.
The authors reflect on anti-stigma-endeavors relative to mental disorders. It is noted that most of the general population in all parts of the world hold negative thoughts towards people with mental illness. On an individual perspective, mentally ill people are perceived as dangerous, unpredictable, and violent. Discrimination against people with mental illness is greatly observed.
Despite international concern about unregulated predictive genetic testing, there are surprisingly few data on both the determinants of community interest in such testing and its psychosocial impact. The study found strong interest in predictive genetic testing for a reported susceptibility to depression.
Meritocratic worldviews that stress personal responsibility, such as the Protestant ethic or general beliefs in a just world, are typically associated with stigmatizing attitudes and could explain the persistence of mental illness stigma. Using a response-latency task,the Brief Implicit Association Test, we also examined guilt-related implicit negative stereotypes about mental illness.
Objective: Little is known about the factors contributing to mental illness stigma among caregivers of people with bipolar disorder. Methods: A total of 500 caregivers of patients participating in the Systematic Treatment Enhancement Program for Bipolar Disorder (STEP-BD) study were interviewed in a cross-sectional design on measures of stigma, mood, burden, and coping.
Unmet mental health need is a significant problem for adolescents. The anticipation of negative responses towards mental health care-seeking from family members, peers, and school staff are key factors in teens’ comfort and willingness to address mental health concerns.
Antipsychotic medications can be stigmatizing for patients with serious mental illness, however the roots of stigma are extensive, and efforts to minimize stigma can only be successful when addressed by the individual with illness, their families and loved ones, treatment providers and society at large.
The effectiveness of efforts designed to address mental illness stigma will rest on our ability to understand stigma processes, the factors that produce and sustain such processes, and the mechanisms that lead from stigmatization to harmful consequences.
This study aimed to analyse the outcomes of educational interventions for family members living with a person with bipolar disorder. The study showed that families living with one member with bipolar disorder benefited from the educational intervention in terms of increasing understanding of the condition and reducing stress.
There is growing interest to understand the role of positive psychological features on the outcomes of medical illnesses. We describe the sources, research and impact of these positive psychological traits in the lives of persons with bipolar disorder based on the few published literature available to date. These include, but are not limited to: spirituality, empathy, creativity, realism, and resilience.
Background: There is a wide range of literature on stigmatization and discrimination of people with mental illness. Most studies, however, derive from Western countries. This review aims at summarizing results from developing countries in Asia published between 1996-2006. Method: Medline search focusing on English-speaking literature.
Little is known about how stigma affects Black people receiving mental health treatment. For a project to develop a consumer-based stigma intervention, qualitative interviews were conducted with public-sector Black mental health consumers.
The Disability Discrimination Act 1995 (DDA) bans the discrimination, harassment or victimization of disabled people. This is how people with bipolar disorder come under the protection of the DDA. The problem in the workplace is how employers can deal with the worst extremes of the spectrum.
To find Articles on your topic, check these Databases
Provides full text articles on current issues in psychology from 1988 to the present. Includes more than 25,000 full-text articles from 42 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. All journals included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO.
PsycINFO is an expansive abstracting and indexing database with more than 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Records include journals, books, and dissertations.
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,260 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from nearly 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,950 "selective" coverage journals.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides all of the content in CINAHL with Full Text, but includes more full text journals, more indexing, and the full text of reference books in the areas of nursing and allied health. Covers nursing and allied health literature from 1982 to the present. Includes abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations, and proceedings. Full text is included for selected state nursing journals and some newsletters, standards of practice, practice acts, government publications, research instruments and patient education material.
Subject Search Suggestions
Here are some search subjects which may help:
Bipolar Disorder (and) stigma (or) discrimination
Manic depressive illness
Mentally ill (and) attitudes (or) perceptions
People with disabilities - employment - government policy
Other tags to consider using with those above:
stigma, discrimination, attitudes, perceptions, social aspects, prejudice, employment