It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Heuristics and simple design guides are important tools for designers who wish to incorporate daylighting into the early design process. This paper describes a simulation-based method for generating simple rules for facade design based on specific climate data. This approach uses a design of experiments methodology to populate a detailed daylighting knowledge base.
A typological approach to daylighting has been an unconscious feature of past daylighting research. The main objective of this article is to highlight this latent connection between daylight design study and typological analysis and provide a validation method.
The effective integration of daylighting considerations into the design process requires many issues to be considered simultaneously, such as daily and seasonal variations, illumination, and thermal comfort. To address the need for early integration into the design process, a new approach called Lightsolve has been developed.
A transparent shading device is developed as an alternative to opaque or translucent materials. The objectives are to create a new design of transparent blinds with improved daylighting performance and to simulate its daylighting performance.
Optical daylighting technology can deliver natural light to a space in a building where daylight is limited. This study gives an overview of two optical daylighting systems for capturing natural light: light pipe systems and mirror sunlighting systems.
This paper presents an experimental study on Daylight Factors (DFs) distribution in underground multi-level open spaces which use continuous light shafts to reduce energy consumption by the artificial lighting system and to improve the human acceptability of the spaces.
This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on circuits, components and materials, photonics, control and systems, telecommunications, equipment and instrumentation, power systems and electrical engineering.
This database contains a comprehensive index to world literature on technological and engineering innovations and includes US patents back to 1971. Part of Engineering Research Database and Technology Research Database.
GreenFILE, a freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE will serve as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.
IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
Inspec Inspec includes bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics
A specialized electronic reference product, Referex Engineering draws upon hundreds of premium engineering titles to provide engineering professionals with the answers and information they require, at work and in practice. These titles are now located on the ScienceDirect platform