Research & Subject Guides: The Black Press: Find Articles in Databases

Database Instructions

Under the Databases' sub tab are lists of databases that might help you in your research. All of these databases are available for on and off-campus users here or by going through the Library's Home Page at http://www.library.ncat.edu.

To find these databases from the Library Home Page:

Choose the Databases tab from the Library home page
Click Browse Databases by Title
Look in alphabetical order for the name of the database, as listed to the left.

Please note: For off-campus access use your first and last name, and your Banner ID number.

Scholarly Sources

To find Articles check the Databases

Articles are indexed by the electronic databases that are accessible through the library’s homepage www.ncat.edu/library

Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center consists of scholarly journals, commissioned overview essays by top scholars in Black Studies, historic indexes, and The Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975. At the heart of Black Studies Center is Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, consisting of essays that provide an introduction to major topics in Black Studies. Black Studies Center provides the historical full-text of one of the most influential black newspapers in the United States, The Chicago Defender.
International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text This link opens in a new window
IIBP Full Text draws its current content from international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black Studies and contains full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals. The database covers a wide array of humanities-related disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology among others.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
The Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate provides access to full-text articles from a wide variety of disciplines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR project seeks to develop online access to the full back files of selected journals. The database contains a digitized image of every page and is searchable by every word.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Databases provides access to dozens of historically African American periodicals, (including a few not indexed in the Black Studies Center). It also allows searching of thesis, dissertations, and e-books about journalism.

Primary Sources

The databases below contain periodicals dating from 17th to 21st century.

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Accessible Archives provides access to several primary source collections. African American Newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience. The Civil War Collection contains in depth articles from a variety of perspectives and sources. Bluford Library also has access to The Liberator (the newspaper published by abolitionist William Lloyd Garrison) and The Pennsylvania Express.
American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center consists of scholarly journals, commissioned overview essays by top scholars in Black Studies, historic indexes, and The Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975. At the heart of Black Studies Center is Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, consisting of essays that provide an introduction to major topics in Black Studies. Black Studies Center provides the historical full-text of one of the most influential black newspapers in the United States, The Chicago Defender.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The complete Ethnic NewsWatch resource, incorporating both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, provides a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text This link opens in a new window
IIBP Full Text draws its current content from international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black Studies and contains full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals. The database covers a wide array of humanities-related disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology among others.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR project seeks to develop online access to the full back files of selected journals. The database contains a digitized image of every page and is searchable by every word.