Open Educational Resources Toolkit

What are OER?

Open Educational Resources (OER) are learning, teaching and research materials in any format and medium that reside in the public domain or are under copyright that have been released under an open license, that permit no-cost access, re-use, re-purpose, adaptation and redistribution by others.(UNESCO)

Why are OER important?

Open Educational Resources (OER) are important for several reasons, particularly in the context of education. Here are some key reasons why.

Cost Savings for Students

• OER are freely accessible and reduce cost of textbooks and other educational materials.

Accessibility

• OERs are accessible to anyone, anywhere in the world, as long as they have internet access.

Flexibility and Customization

• OER can be modified, remixed, and adapted to meet the specific needs of a course.

1. Reuse – Content can be reused in its unaltered original format
2. Retain – Copies of content can be retained for personal archives or reference
3. Revise – Content can be modified or altered to suit specific needs
4. Remix – Content can be adapted with other similar content to create something new
5. Redistribute – Content can be shared with anyone else in its original or altered format

Open licenses are legal frameworks that allow creators to grant others permission to use, share, modify, and redistribute their work under certain conditions, typically without the need for individual permissions. These licenses aim to promote collaboration, innovation, and access to resources while protecting the creator's rights.

Common Features of Open Licenses:

1. Permission for Use: Open licenses allow users to access and use the work without needing to ask the copyright holder for permission.
2. Modification and Redistribution: Many open licenses permit users to modify the work and distribute the adapted version, sometimes with certain restrictions.
3. Attribution: Most open licenses require that users give proper credit to the original creator when they use or share the work.
4. Free of Charge: Open licenses typically ensure that the licensed material can be used without financial cost.
5. Clear Conditions: The licenses clearly state the conditions under which the material can be used, such as whether commercial use is allowed or if derivative works must be shared under the same license.

Examples of Open Licenses:

Creative Commons (CC) Licenses: An open license that enables creators to share their work with the public under specific conditions, making it easier for others to use, distribute, and build upon the work legally. These licenses offer a range of permissions, from allowing all types of use with attribution to restricting commercial use or adaptations.

• CC BY: Allows others to distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon the work, even commercially, as long as they credit the original creator.
• CC BY-SA: Similar to CC BY, but derivative works must be licensed under the same terms.
• CC BY-ND: Allows redistribution, but only in its original form, with credit to the author (no adaptations).
• CC BY-NC: Allows others to remix, adapt, and build upon the work, but for non-commercial purposes only.
• CC0 (Public Domain Dedication): Allows others to use the work without any conditions, including no requirement for attribution.

GNU General Public License (GPL): A popular open-source software license that allows users to freely use, modify, and distribute software, but any derivative works must be shared under the same license.

MIT License: A permissive open-source software license that allows almost unrestricted use, modification, and distribution of the software, as long as the original copyright notice is included.

Open Database License (ODbL): Specifically designed for databases, this license allows users to freely share, modify, and use a database, as long as they credit the source and share any derived databases under the same license.

OER Collections

OER collections are available across various platforms. Below are some well-known repositories and websites where you can find OER collections.

• Open Textbook Library (U. of Minnesota)

  An online library of peer-reviewed, full-text open textbooks for higher education covering most subjects. 

• Open SUNY Textbooks

  Open textbooks published by the State University of New York system. Subjects: Business, General Education, Humanities, Science, Social Science.

• Textbook Collection (U. of South Florida)

  Free an open textbooks curated by the University of South Florida. Subjects: Children's Literature, Journalism, Math.

• OpenStax (Rice University)

  A nonprofit based at Rice University that has published over 25 open textbooks, covering most introductory undergraduate courses.

• WikiBooks

  The WikiBooks collection is managed by the Wikimedia Foundation and contains thousands of open textbooks on many subjects.

• OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search)

  Developed by SUNY Geneseo, is a search platform that aims to make discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 76 different sources and contains more than 177,000 records.

• Open Textbooks for Engineering

  From the Engineering Library Division, a comprehensive list of open textbooks within engineering, organized by discipline.

Below are a few criteria to consider during the evaluation process.

• Accessibility: Is the content accessible and appropriate for your students? Consider whether it's too technical or whether it provides an appropriate level of challenge.
• Usage and Licensing: How can you use this content? Check the resource's license. Are you allowed to remix or revise it, as long as it's not for commercial purposes? Are there any attribution requirements you need to fulfill? 
• Format: Is the material available in a format that is easily accessible for your students? Does it require any specialized software? Can it be printed or purchased in a low-cost printed version?
• Quality: Has the OER undergone peer review? Are there reviews available from other instructors who teach similar courses? Have errors been corrected or acknowledged?
• Content Coverage: Does this OER cover the key concepts you want your students to learn in this course or module?

Rubrics & Checklists

• Achieve's OER Rubrics

  Eight rubrics that serve as an evaluation tool for alignment with the Common Core State Standards

• Faculty Guide for Evaluating Open Educational Resources

  Checklist from BCOER Librarians, British Columbia Open Education.

• iRubric: Evaluating OER Rubric

  Developed by Sarah Morehouse with help from Mark McBride, Kathleen Stone, and Beth Burns.

• OER Starter Kit 

This starter kit has been created to provide instructors with an introduction to the use and creation of open educational resources (OER).

• “Authoring Open Textbooks” (Rebus Community and Open Textbook Network)

This guide is intended for faculty authors, librarians, project managers, and others involved in the creation of open textbooks.

• Open Educational Resources Syllabus Review

A digital collection offering OER alternatives to traditional textbooks found in course syllabi.

• Creative Commons Search Portal

Search for openly licensed material in various formats.