"This Statement is meant to provide clarity for U.S. colleges and universities about how copyright law applies to the many facets of remote teaching and research in the wake of the COVID-19 outbreak. We write this as copyright specialists at colleges, universities, and other organizations supporting higher education in the U.S. and Canada who work every day with faculty, staff, and librarians to enable them to make ethical and legal choices about copyright issues in online teaching."
This list contains resources that are being provided to our users by vendors free of charge in response to the COVID-19 outbreak. This list is updated frequently. Bluford Library cannot guarantee access to any of these resources at any given time.
JSTOR and our participating publishers are making an expanded set of content freely available to our participating institutions where students have been displaced due to COVID-19. First, we are expediting the release of a new set of 26 journal archives in Public Health, making them openly accessible through June 30, 2020. We also have an expanded set of content that is available to institutions where students have been displaced due to COVID-19 through June 30, 2020.
ProQuest has partnered with more than 50 publishers to support libraries in providing unlimited access to Ebook Central holdings for all patrons – at no extra charge. Starting next week, ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 will get unlimited access to all owned titles from these publishers through mid-June. This means that all licenses – including single-user and three-user models – will automatically convert to unlimited access during that period, helping librarians bridge the gap for their patrons in this rapidly changing environment. The unlimited access also applies to additional titles purchased through mid-June.
No action is required by librarians to switch on unlimited access – this will be done automatically, and the transition will be seamless for users.
To assist the many students, faculty, and researchers who are working and studying remotely during the COVID-19 pandemic, effective today, Annual Reviews has made their journals available to all (without access control) through Thursday April 30, 2020. On that date, we will assess the need to extend this policy.
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases. HeinOnline is providing free access to this resource through December 15, 2020.
SAGE Video showcases highly relevant educational video across key social science disciplines. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse research and learning needs. All videos are fully citable with searchable transcripts, custom clip creation and embedding.
EBSCO has a variety of free resources available to support its customers during the COVID-19 pandemic. Many EBSCO ebooks have been upgraded to unlimited simultaneous users (previously, 1-3 users at a time could access them). EBSCO is offering free unlimited user access to the Harvard Business Review Ebooks subscription collection (access is in process).
To support distance learning at institutions impacted by COVID-19 closures, we have created a simplified version of EBSCO Faculty Select to help faculty easily find Open Educational Resources and DRM-free e-books to support remote classroom needs.
With this option, EBSCO is offering a simplified version of Faculty Select that includes access to OER material as well as the option to discover more than 225,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks in one place, available at no charge for faculty to use through June 30, 2020.
ProQuest just announced the launch of a Coronavirus Research Database in response to the rapidly growing need for authoritative content related to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). The new cross-disciplinary resource enables researchers to search and discover full-text articles, dissertations and other content from key publishers in one place.
Access in progress: free temporary access to LWW Health Library from Ovid LWW Health Library provides a singular access point to clinical and educational content, as well as rich multimedia ancillaries for teaching, learning, and practice. In addition to health science schools and hospitals, these resources are a must-have for related educational, residency, and fellowship programs – ensuring you have the resources you need to effectively support curriculum for your students’ and residents’ foundational learning and clinical practice needs.
VitalSource Helps supports students at semester-calendar schools who may have lost access to course materials due to their campus moving online to prevent the spread of COVID-19. Students and instructors at impacted 2 and 4-year non-profit institutions in the U.S. and Canada can now access an expansive catalog of etexts, through May 25, 2020 in the US and April 30, 2020 in Canada, at no charge. This program is made possible by the support of leading publishers, campus retailers, and independent bookstores in higher education.
Students simply log into the VitalSource Bookshelf app using their school email address and can then find and view course materials from participating publishers via VitalSource’s Explore capabilities within Bookshelf.
IGI Global has provided temporary access to their E-journal and E-book databases.
Charter Communications has announced that all households with K-12 or college students will be given 60 days of free high speed internet access with WiFi. To enroll in the program, call 1-844-488-8395. Installation fees will be waived for new student households.
Xfinity WiFi hotspots across the country will be available to anyone who needs them for free – including non-Xfinity Internet subscribers. For a map of Xfinity WiFi hotspots, visit www.xfinity.com/wifi. Once at a hotspot, consumers should select the “xfinitywifi” network name in the list of available hotspots and then launch a browser.
Consistent with FCC Chairman Pai’s “Keep Americans Connected Pledge” announced today and concerns raised by members of Congress, which we share, AT&T is proud to support our customers by pledging that, for the next 60 days (as of March 13, 2020), we will Keep our public Wi-Fi hotspots open for any American who needs them.