This is the "Home" page of the "Special Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Special Education  

Last Updated: Aug 31, 2016 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/specialedu Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Internet Resources

  • The Council for Exceptional Children (CEC)
    The Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) is the largest international professional organization dedicated to improving educational outcomes for individuals with exceptionalities, students with disabilities, and/or the gifted
  • GT World
    An on-line support community for gifted and talented individuals and those who support and nurture them.
  • Internet Resources for Special Children
    The IRSC Web Site is an attempt to bring together valuable information for parents, educators, medical professionals, etc. who interact with children who have disABILITIES
  • Johns Hopkins University Center for Talented Youth
    Seeks students of the highest academic ability through its talent search and offers them challenging educational opportunities that develop the intellect, encourage achievement, and nurture social development.
  • The National Association of Special Education Teachers (NASET)
    Is the only national membership organization dedicated solely to meeting the needs of special education teachers and those preparing for the field of special education teaching.
  • The North Carolina Association for the Gifted and Talented (NCAGT)
    Is an organization of teachers, parents, other educators, and community leaders who foster a better understanding of the needs and capabilities of academically/intellectually gifted children.
  • Special Education Advocate
    A site for parents, educators, advocates, and attorneys for accurate, reliable information about special education law, education law, and advocacy for children with disabilities.
  • TeachingLD
    The purpose of TeachingLD is to provide trustworthy and up-to-date resources about teaching students with Learning Disabilities.

Associations & Societies

Welcome

This selective guide is designed to help our patrons with their research in the Special Education class. 

      

    Popular Journals

    The following journal titles are available at our Periodicals and Government Documents Section on the lower level. Use the online catalog at the bottom of this page to search for more journla titles.

    Exceptional Children

    The Exceptional Parent

    Focus on Exceptional Children

    The Gifted Child Quarterly

    Journal of Exceptional Children

    The Journal of Special Education

    Learning Disability Quarterly: Journal of the Division for Children with Learning Disabilities

    Remedial and Special Education

    Teacher Education and Special Education

    Teaching Exceptional Children

        

      Reference Librarian

      Profile Image
      Clifton Sawyerr
      Contact Info
      Bluford Library
      NC A&T State University
      Greensboro
      North Carolina 27411
      Send Email

      Education Databases

      • Academic Search Complete
        Contains indexing for over 8,200 publications, with full text for nearly 4,650 of those titles.
      • Dissertations & Theses: Full Text
        Comprehensive collection of full text dissertations and theses.
      • ERIC
        A bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations and over 100,000 full text on education topics going back to 1966.
      • JSTOR
        Provides full-text searches of digitized back issues of several hundred well-known journals.
      • Proquest Education
        ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
      • Mental Measurement Yearbooks
        Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.
      • NC LIVE
        Contains several dozen databases covering a variety of topics including education and special education.
      • PsycINFO
        An electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO® provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations
      • Science Direct
        Full-text collection of science, technology, psychology, business and medicine.
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip