Research & Subject Guides: The Sit-In Movement, 1960: Internet Resources & Digital Collections

.EDU Websites

NASHVILLE SIT-INS (1959-1961)
The Autobiography of Martin Luther King, Jr
Civil Rights Digital LIbrary
This digital library features several news film clips from the news archives of the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries.
Greensboro Sit-Ins at Woolworth’s, February-July 1960

The Greensboro Sit-Ins: A Continuing Tradition of Nonviolent Protest
Grade Levels: 8-12
Provided by Independent Television Service (ITVS) and PBS
Breaking the Code: Actions and Songs of Protest
Grade Levels: 7-12
Provided by Independent Television Service (ITVS) and PBS

North Carolina Now 02/01/1996 - American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Half-hour broadcast that includes an interview with Earl Jones of Sit In Movement Inc., and efforts to preserve the Greensboro Woolworth Building for a future museum.
Police in Greensboro Arrest Black Students - 1960 February 1
News footage from the WSB Atlanta, Georgia newsfilm collections showing downtown Greensboro during the first day of the Sit-In Movement.
February One: The Story of the Greensboro Four (2003) - Tubi
In this poignant documentary, one of the most legendary moments in the quest for civil rights in America unfolds at an ordinary restaurant.

Civil Rights Resource Guide
External resources from the Library of Congress
Sit-Ins
Lisa Cozzen- Brown University
The Sit-In Movement
The Philadelphia's Independent Hall Association owns the website ushistory.org, which supports their mission to educate the public about the Revolutionary and Colonial eras of American history
The Civil Rights Collection
Nashville Public Library