Research & Subject Guides: Family and Consumer Sciences Education: Articles by Topic

Database Instructions

Here are lists of databases that might help you, organized by category. All of these databases are available for on and off-campus users here or by going through the Library's Home Page at http://www.library.ncat.edu.

To find these databases from the Library Home Page:

Click Browse Databases by Title
Look in alphabetical order for the name of the database, some are listed below.

Please note: For off-campus access use your NCAT user name and password.

Tips for Searching

When searching in online databases, remember these rules of thumb:

The words you enter determine exactly what you get out. So, for different results you must use different words.
More search terms = fewer results.
Fewer terms = more results.
Connect words with AND instead of putting in complete sentences. Computers do not understand grammar.

Family and Consumer Sciences Cross-Disciplinary Quick Search

Results will be restricted to "Full Text" articles. You can change your limits on the right-hand side of the results page.

Family/Consumer Education Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate provides access to full-text articles from a wide variety of disciplines.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business database that indexes scholarly business journals and other sources, with full text for over 9,500 titles, including over 1,000 peer-reviewed business journals. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. Also includes industry & market research reports from Datamonitor and country reports from CountryWatch and Business Monitor. Covers all areas of business, including accounting & tax; banking, finance & insurance; computer science & MIS; economics; human resources; management; marketing; operations management; public administration; and journals useful to other disciplines like area studies, sociology, and the sciences.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an index for all education topics. ERIC indexes Journal Articles in 1,000 education-related journals. Abstracts are provided. Some full text journal articles are available. ERIC indexes ERIC Documents. These are education materials not published elsewhere, such as curriculum guides, various research reports, and conference papers.
Family Health Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Food Studies Online is the first database offering in one place the most relevant and valuable materials in this new and exciting area. This databases contains video and print materials.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Consumer Edition is a collection of consumer health information, providing access to nearly 80 full-text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. This database also includes searchable full text for current, health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
General reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. Includes peer reviewed publications.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, case studies, data sets, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon SAGEs legacy of methods publishing, SAGE Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource was replaced by Sociology Source Ultimate, which is an upgraded version with additional content. The link redirects to the updated resource.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center indexes of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.