Research & Subject Guides: Political Science: Search for Articles by Topic

Database Instructions

Here are lists of databases that might help you, organized by category. All of these databases are available for on and off-campus users here or by going through the Library's Home Page at http://www.library.ncat.edu.

To find these databases from the Library Home Page:

Choose the Databases tab from the Library home page
Click Browse Databases by Title
Look in alphabetical order for the name of the database, as listed to the left.

Please note: For off-campus access use your A&T email username and password.

Tips for Searching

When searching in online databases, remember these rules of thumb:

The words you enter determine exactly what you get out. So, for different results you must use different words.
More search terms = fewer results.
Fewer terms = more results.
Connect words with AND instead of putting in complete sentences. Computers do not understand grammar.

Political Science Specialty Databases

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to business, controversial issues, criminal justice, economics, health, education, the environment, government, journalism, politics and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, blogs, broadcast transcripts, periodicals and web-only content including the Charlotte Observer (1985-Current) and Greensboro News & Record (1990-Current). Also includes Access Business News, Access International News, Access Military, Government, and Defense, Access Newswires & Transcripts, and Acceda Noticias.
CQ Press Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Contains CQ Researcher Online, CQ Magazine (formerly CQ Weekly), and CQ Historic Documents Series.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews to provide unparalleled access to the defining international issues of our time.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is an online collection of educational videos available for streaming. Subjects include anthropology, archival films & newsreels, area studies, art & architecture, biology, business & economics, careers & job search, communication, computers & technology, criminal justice, earth science, education, English & language arts, environmental science, family & consumer sciences, geography, guidance & counseling, health & medicine, history, mathematics, music & dance, philosophy & religion, physical science, political science, psychology, sociology, technical education, and world languages.
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Homeland Security Digital Library is composed of homeland security related documents collected from a wide variety of sources. These include federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR project seeks to develop online access to the full back files of selected journals. The database contains a digitized image of every page and is searchable by every word.
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Military & Government Collection offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, including full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 400 journals.
Military Database This link opens in a new window
This database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering and more. It includes over 550 titles, with more than 370 available in full-text, allowing you to search over 3.5M records, dating back to the early 1990's.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap offers easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US. From the classroom to the boardroom, thousands of organizations trust PolicyMap to find the right data for their research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present.
ProQuest Military This link opens in a new window
The Military Database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. An important benefit of the Military Database is its content diversity. Included are scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
ProQuest Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources.
Revolution and Protest Online This link opens in a new window
Revolution and Protest Online explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present. Organized around more than thirty events and areas, representing a variety of time periods, regions, and topics, this collection will include at completion 175 hours of video, 100,000 pages of printed materials (personal papers, organizations, government documents, journals, reports, monographs, and speeches), and more than 1,000 images.
SIRS Government Reporter This link opens in a new window
SIRS Government Reporter is a comprehensive student resource for the study of all aspects of U.S. federal government. It contains thousands of full-text documents, summaries, and graphics covering a wide variety of topics including health, science, economics, environment, politics, foreign affairs, business, and industry.

Multidisciplinary Databases that are Useful for Political Science

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
This database is one of the most comprehensive business databases on the market. It includes in-depth coverage for thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text and the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate provides access to full-text articles from a wide variety of disciplines.
CQ Press Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Contains CQ Researcher Online, CQ Magazine (formerly CQ Weekly), and CQ Historic Documents Series.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks covering a variety of subjects, including arts and entertainment, business and economy, computer and internet, education, health, history, government and law, recreation and sports, reference, science and technology, social sciences, and society and culture.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The complete Ethnic NewsWatch resource, incorporating both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, provides a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
ICPSR Data Archive This link opens in a new window
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. First time users should create a MyData Account. This account needs to be created from a computer on campus. Once you have an account, you can use this resource on or off campus.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR project seeks to develop online access to the full back files of selected journals. The database contains a digitized image of every page and is searchable by every word.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic Universe) This link opens in a new window
This flagship service provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. LexisNexis Academic provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic research needs, including: National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information; Shepards Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (formerly titled Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center) draws on the acclaimed social issues print series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Thomson Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources. The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Opposing Viewpoints in Context's unique features include Viewpoint articles frameworks that allow students to explore each topic's many facets and exclusive electronic access to Thomson Gale's Information Plus series featuring statistics and government data placed in context.
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Online access to journals from Oxford University Press.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Currently, Project MUSE Premium Collection offers 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
ProQuest Research Companion This link opens in a new window
An award-winning, cloud-based information literacy solution that enables educators and librarians to guide students through research projects efficiently.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. in all instances.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, case studies, data sets, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon SAGEs legacy of methods publishing, SAGE Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of peer-reviewed journals covering science, technology and medicine.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher offers analysis and opinions covering the pros, cons, and everything in between of 325 social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global issues. Editorially created Topic Overview pages with engaging Essential Questions with answers, and viewpoint articles help build solid foundations for understanding the issues. Articles and graphics in SIRS Issues Researcher are carefully selected according to strict SIRS criteria for content reliability, relevance, and age-appropriateness. Titles include: American History, The Christian Science Monitor, Economist, Foreign Affairs, Financial, Times, Global Viewpoint, Macleans, National Geographic, Newsweek and Science News.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
United Nations Treaty Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains the text of international agreements registered with the United Nations since 1946 and information on the status of the registered treaties.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Now titled ISI Web of Knowledge , Web of Science is an academic citation index that covers the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A catalog of records for all type of materials located in libraries throughout the world. This is now integrated into Aggie GOLD Search.