Research & Subject Guides: Reading Across the Curriculum: Databases and Online Articles

Database Instructions

Here are lists of databases that might help you, organized by category. All of these databases are available for on and off-campus users here or by going through the Library's Home Page at http://www.library.ncat.edu.

To find these databases from the Library Home Page:

Choose the Databases tab from the Library home page
Click Browse Databases by Title
Look in alphabetical order for the name of the database, as listed to the left.

Please note: For off-campus access use your Aggie OneID and your password.

Article Databases for Education

Use these databases to find articles in education and other journals, trade magazines, newsletters, and more.

EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
This link will take you to a list of all the EBSCOhost databases accessible at the Bluford Library.
ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new window
Description ProQuest Education Database gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR project seeks to develop online access to the full back files of selected journals. The database contains a digitized image of every page and is searchable by every word.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an index for all education topics. ERIC indexes Journal Articles in 1,000 education-related journals. Abstracts are provided. Some full text journal articles are available. ERIC indexes ERIC Documents. These are education materials not published elsewhere, such as curriculum guides, various research reports, and conference papers.

Other Education Databases

These databases provide materials other than articles that might be useful for research in reading and education.

ebrary (now ProQuest Ebook Central) This link opens in a new window
E-books from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks covering a variety of subjects, including arts and entertainment, business and economy, computer and internet, education, health, history, government and law, recreation and sports, reference, science and technology, social sciences, and society and culture.
NoveList This link opens in a new window
A readers advisory resource that uses appeal factors and expert reviews to offer read-alike and listen-alike recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks.