This is the "Home" page of the "Linking to Library Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Linking to Library Databases  

This guide will teach you how to link to articles in library databases.
Last Updated: Mar 5, 2014 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/linking Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide by Provider

Database    Linking Guide
ABI/INFORM    ProQuest
Academic Search Complete EBSCO
ACLS Humanities E-Books ACLS Humanities E-Books
ACM Digital Library ACM
African American Biographical Database Oxford Databases
African American Music Reference Alexander Street Press
African American Poetry Chadwyck-Healey
African Writers Series Chadwyck-Healey
AHFS Consumer Medication Information EBSCO
American Chemical Society Web Editions ACS
American Mathematical Society Journals AMS
American Periodicals Series ProQuest
American Poetry Chadwyck-Healey
ASCE Journals ASCE
Annual Reviews  DOI
AnthroSource    Wiley
Art and Architecture Complete    EBSCO
Biography in Context    Gale
Biography Reference Center EBSCO
BioMed Central    DOI
BioOne    BioOne
Black Drama    Alexander Street Press
BlackShort Fiction & Folklore Alexander Street Press
 Black Studies Center Chadwyck-Healey
Black Thought & Culture   Alexander Street Press
Black Women Writers    Alexander Street Press
books24x7 books24x7
Business Source Complete    EBSCO
CINAHL Plus with Full Text EBSCO
Classical Music Library Alexander Street Press
Communication and Mass Media Complete    EBSCO
CRCnetBASE    CRCnetBASE
Criminology: A SAGE Full Text Collection DOI
Dissertations and Theses Full Text ProQuest
Early English Books Online       Chadwyck-Healey
ebrary    ebrary
EBSCO eBook Collection    EBSCO
Econlit with Full Text    EBSCO
Emerald Journals Emerald
Encyclopedia Britannica Encyclopedia Britannica
English Poetry Chadwyck-Healey
ENGnetBASE CRCnetBASE
Entrepreneurial Studies Source EBSCO
ENVIROnetBASE CRCnetBASE
Environment Complete    EBSCO
Ethnic NewsWatch ProQuest
Faber Poetry Library Chadwyck-Healey
Faulkner Advisory Faulkner Advisory
Film & Television Literature with Full Text    EBSCO
Films on Demand Films on Demand
FOODnetBASE CRCnetBASE
Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia EBSCO
Gale Virtual Reference Library Gale
Academic OneFile Gale
GeoScienceWorld DOI
Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs Chadwyck-Healey
Grove Art Online Oxford Databases
Health Source: Consumer Edition EBSCO
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition EBSCO
Hoover's Company Records    ProQuest
Humanities International Complete EBSCO
IEEE Xplore IEEE
In the First Person Alexander Street Press
International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text Chadwyck-Healey
International Index to the Performing Arts ProQuest
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) JoVE
JSTOR JSTOR
Knovel Knovel
Legal Information Reference Center EBSCO
LexisNexis Academic Universe LexisNexis

Library, Information Science, & Technology

Abstracts with Full Text

EBSCO
Literary Reference Center Plus    EBSCO
Literature Resource Center Gale
LitFINDER Gale
MAS Complete EBSCO
MasterFILE Complete EBSCO
MATERIALSnetBASE CRCnetBASE
MATHnetBASE CRCnetBASE
Mental Measurements Yearbook EBSCO
Middle Search Plus EBSCO
Military and Government Collection EBSCO
MyiLibrary MyiLibrary
NANOnetBASE CRCnetBASE
NBER Working Papers    NBER
NCLive Downloadable Audiobooks NCLive Audiobooks
NCLive Media Collection NCLive Media
New York Times (current and historical) ProQuest
Newspaper Source Plus EBSCO
North American Women's Letters and Diaries Alexander Street Press
Noticias Financieras EBSCO
NoveList and NoveList Plus K-8 EBSCO
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Gale
Oxford African American Studies Center Oxford Databases
Oxford English Dictionary Oxford Databases
Oxford University Press Journal DOI
Oxford Reference Online Oxford Databases
Points of View Reference Center EBSCO
POLYMERSnetBASE CRCnetBASE
Primary Search EBSCO
Project Muse Project Muse
ProQuest Asian Business & Reference ProQuest
ProQuest Newspapers ProQuest
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health ProQuest
PsycARTICLES EBSCO
Psychiatry Online DOI
Referex linking not available
Regional Business News EBSCO
SAE Digital Library DOI
Sage DOI
Salem History Salem
Salem Literature Salem
Salem Science Salem
Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience Chadwyck-Healey
Science Reference Center EBSCO
ScienceDirect ScienceDirect
Small Business Reference Center EBSCO
Small Engine Repair Reference Center EBSCO
SocINDEX with Full Text EBSCO
SpringerLINK Springer
Synthesis Digital Library DOI
Teacher Reference Center EBSCO
TopicSearch EBSCO
Twentieth-Century African American Poetry Chadwyck-Healey
Twentieth-Century American Poetry Chadwyck-Healey
Twentieth-Century English Poetry Chadwyck-Healey
U.S. History in Context Gale
Wall Street Journal ProQuest
Wiley Online Library DOI
Women and Social Movements in the United States1600-2000 Alexander Street Press
World History in Context Gale
 

Why link to the full text of articles?

When sharing articles, e-books, and e-journals with your students in Blackboard, you should include links to the resources, rather than posting PDFs. Why?

  • Linking to these resources is in compliance with vendor license agreements. Most vendors for library resources prefer that users link to their content, rather than downloading PDFs and posting them in Blackboard. By linking to these resources, you are helping the library comply with these license agreements.
  • Usage of library resources is an important factor in collection development decisions. If you post an article in Blackboard, the library has no idea how many times that article has been accessed. However, by linking to the same article, each use is counted, and supports continued subscription to that journal or database.

The procedure for linking to articles in library resources varies across different providers. Generally speaking, this is NOT how to copy a link:

The URL in the navigation bar at the top of your browser is often temporary, so copying and pasting it into Blackboard will not lead back to the article. To learn how to link to articles and e-books in different databases and on different publisher platforms, please use the tabs above.

Questions?

Please contact Kate Silton, Electronic Resources Librarian, at ktsilton@ncat.edu.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip