Resources to support students taking classes in graphic communications systems in the School of Technology.
Last Updated: Jul 21, 2016
- ACM Digital Library - SIGGRAPH
The ACM Special Interest Group on Computer Graphics (SIGGRAPH) promotes the generation and dissemination of information on computer graphics and interactive techniques. The digital library allows access to all of SIGGRAPH's publications, including conference proceedings and journal articles.
The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University.
- Art and Architecture Complete
Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, Art & Architecture Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. The database also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others. Art & Architecture Complete has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes art scholars, artists, designers, college students, and general researchers. This database covers a wide variety of pertinent subjects, including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design, and much more.
Database of digital images and accompanying scholarly information for use in art history.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
This database is a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture since 1934, covering the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design and decoration.
- Grove Art Online
This dictionary contains articles on every aspect of the visual arts -- painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day. The database includes the following areas: Artist biographies, Patrons, Writers, Civilizations and Cultures, Country surveys, Towns and Cities, Styles, Groups and Movements, Art forms, Subject-matter and Iconography, Materials, Techniques and Conservation, Theories and Related issues.