This is the "Home" page of the "Dissertation Planning" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dissertation Planning  

Last Updated: Sep 19, 2012 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/dissertations Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Theses and Dissertations Online

  • Dissertations & Theses Full Text
    Have you ever read a dissertation? If not, you should look through other dissertations before starting to write yours! This gives you a chance to see the style of writing and organization used in making the dissertation. It's not like any other type of writing you've done! Search other universities' dissertations online with this database.
 

A&T Thesis Collection

To read past theses and dissertations from A&T graduates, visit the F. D. Bluford Library Archives department. Theses and dissertatiions can be searched in the library catalog like other library materials. Due to their historical and unique natures, items from the Archives (location "A&T Spec Coll" in the Catalog) such as theses must be used in the Archives department.

To contact the Archives for assistance, information, or to ask about a specific thesis please call 336-285-4176. The Archives is normally open 8am to 5pm Monday throught Friday. It is located on the 2nd floor of the F. D. Bluford Library.

 

Welcome

Welcome to this library guide on research planning for the dissertation writing process. Each tab breaks out some comments and resources for different stages of the dissertation process.

  • This tab, or HOME, has general tools for dissertaions. Consider checking out one of the books below to really understand how to organize your dissertation!
  • The RESEARCH QUESTION tab has hints on why and how to make a research question or thesis statement. Starting your dissertaion without a good research focus is just making more work for yourself.
  • The LITERATURE REVIEW tab offers some starting resources on the literature review, and links for more.
  • The MODELS AND METHODS tab has some resources for thinking about how and why you need to pick a methodology.
  • And the WRITING STYLE tab links to information on writing and citing.
 

Books to Get Started

Cover Art
Completing Your Qualitative Dissertation : A Roadmap From Beginning To End
Call Number: A&T STACKS H62 .B58555 2008

Cover Art
Completing Your Thesis Or Dissertation : Professors Share Their Techniques And Strategies
Call Number: A&T STACKS LB2369 .C64 2000

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of research design
Call Number: A&T REF HA29 .E525 2010 v.1 - 3

Cover Art
Form & style : research papers, reports, theses
Call Number: A&T REF LB2369 .C3 2007

Cover Art
Proposing empirical research : a guide to the fundamentals
Call Number: A&T STACKS LB1028 .P342 2005

Cover Art
Schaum's Quick Guide To Writing Great Research Papers
Call Number: A&T STACKS LB1047.3 .R69 2007

Cover Art
Successful Writing For Qualitative Researchers
Call Number: A&T STACKS H62 .W66 2006

Cover Art
Surviving Your Dissertation : A Comprehensive Guide To Content And Process
Call Number: A&T STACKS LB2369 .R83 2007

Cover Art
Writing The Doctoral Dissertation : A Systematic Approach
Call Number: A&T STACKS LB2369 .D357 1997

Cover Art
Writing The Winning Dissertation : A Step-By-Step Guide
Call Number: A&T STACKS LB2369 .G56 1998

A&T Grad School Guidelines

Related Libguides

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip