This is the "Find Articles" page of the "The Black Press" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Nov 9, 2016 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/blackpress Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database Instructions

Under the Databases' sub tab are lists of databases that might help you in your research. All of these databases are available for on and off-campus users here or by going through the Library's Home Page at http://www.library.ncat.edu.

To find these databases from the Library Home Page:

  • Choose the Databases tab from the Library home page
  • Click Browse Databases by Title
  • Look in alphabetical order for the name of the database, as listed to the left.

Please note: For off-campus access use your first and last name, and your Banner ID number.

Scholarly Sources

To find Articles check the Databases  

Articles are indexed by the electronic databases that are accessible through the library’s homepage http://www.library.ncat.com

  • Black Studies Center
    Scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles and videos on African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete
    CMMC includes journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields.
  • International Index to Black Periodicals
    Full-text coverage of over 40 core Black Studies periodicals, plus citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals.
  • Oxford African American Studies Center
    Comprehensive collection of scholarship on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
  • Academic OneFile
    Index to general periodicals and scholarly journals. Millions of full-text articles.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Multi-disciplinary, full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
  • JSTOR
    Provides full-text and images of over 150 scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines
  • ProQuest Central
    ProQuest Central provides access to millions of much-coveted full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals. It also provides access to information not available in other aggregated resources such as over 70,000 full text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education and more; over 90,000 working papers from providers such as SSRN; and thousands of up-to-date market and industry reports, and country profiles.

Primary Sources

The databases below contain periodicals dating from 17th  to 21st century.

  • Accessible Archives
    Colonial and civil war newspapers, 19th century African-American newspapers.
  • American Periodical Series (via ProQuest)
    Over 1,100 historically-significant periodicals that began publishing between 1740 and 1900.
  • Black Studies Center
    Scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles and videos on African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch (via ProQuest)
    Full-text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
  • International Index to Black Periodicals
    Full-text coverage of over 40 core Black Studies periodicals, plus citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals.
  • JSTOR
    Provides full-text and images of over 150 scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines
  • Black Thought and Culture
    Consists of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures covering 250 years of history. Also presents previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trail transcripts.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip