This is the "Other Stats and Demographics" page of the "Entrepreneurship" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Entrepreneurship  

Last Updated: Sep 30, 2016 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/entrepreneurship Print Guide RSS Updates

Other Stats and Demographics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Working With Statistics

Finding statistics and data can be difficult. There are a wide variety of sources for statistics, including library statistical databases and government statistical tables (listed on the right). You can also use data from studies reported in journal articles (see the Journals, Magazines, and News tab), which is usually analyzed in the article but can still provide a source of statistics for you to re-analyze.

The F. D. Bluford library also has various software available for analyzing statistics. For simple charts and graphs, most people use Excel. We have many computers with Excel 2007 and some with the older version, Excel 2003. Other software available in the library includes SPSS, which is used for detailed statistical analysis, and ARC GIS, for data mapping. Regrettably, the library cannot provide training or advice on the use of these programs.

Statistical Databases

These are subscription databases paid for through the F. D. Bluford Library. If prompted for your University ID, use your name and your Banner ID (95#) to log in.

  • Simply Map
    This robust statistics database is great for marketing and business plan development. Create ad hoc tables or map data from thousands of demographic, lifestyle, and consumer statistics.
  • Social Explorer
    Provides interactive Census data from 1790 to 2000 as well as collections of data on numerous topics from various universities and research centers.

Government Statistical Sources

These are freely available government statistical sources that you can find on the Internet.

  • Data.gov
    This new portal for government data on the web, mandated by the new Administration, has the goal of making data easier to access and more web 2.0 friendly.
  • FedStats
    This portal helps you locate data from over 100 statistic-tracking agencies in the U. S. government.
  • NC State Data Center
    The State Data Center is a starting point for North Carolina state governmental statistical sources.
  • U. S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
    The BEA tracks the GDP of the nation, provides access to state GDPs, reports on the state of national and international accounts, and tracks other data on the state of the US economy.
  • U. S. Census Bureau
    The Census Bureau site includes not only the decennial (10-year) census but also the Economic Census, the Survey of Business Owners, the American Community Survey, and other major data sets. Most searchers will want to start at the "American Factfinder."
  • U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
    This is the authoritative source for work and labor data such as employment, unemployment, wage, and workplace safety statistics. Some other economic and consumer data is also available here.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip