This is the "Company Research" page of the "Entrepreneurship" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Entrepreneurship  

Last Updated: Sep 30, 2016 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/entrepreneurship Print Guide RSS Updates

Company Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Clients or Competition: You Decide

How a company relates to other companies in their industry as well as upstream and downstream is an important issue in the success of a business.

Whether you are researching upstream sources in the supply chain, developing lists of potential B2B clients/customers, or gathering intelligence on your competitive landscape, it is critical to be able to research other companies.

Use these tools to find out more about companies no matter what role they play in your business plan.

Company and Industry Data

These databases present company and industry descriptions. Some focus more on qualitative information like description, market share, history, and so on. Others emphasize quantitative information and financials. To get a full picture of the company you're interested in you may want to look at it in several databases. For off-campus access, use your Banner ID number.

  • Hoover's Company Records
    Access summary company information including history, simple revenues, and more from Hoover's.
  • Mergent Online
    Mergent includes in-depth quantitative data about companies focusing on company financial analysis. You can search companies by a variety of corporate, industry, financial, and Executive traits.
  • ReferenceUSA
    ReferenceUSA has a comprehensive business module for searching for companies, including private and small companies. This is an excellent source for making lists of job leads or business competitors.
  • Standard & Poors NetAdvantage
    Standard & Poors NetAdvantage analyzes the market performance of companies and industries. Market news and economic insights as well as tracking of the S&P500 are also available here.
 

Database Instructions

Here are lists of databases that might help you, organized by category. All of these databases are available for on and off-campus users here or by going through the Library's Home Page at http://www.library.ncat.edu.

To find these databases from the Library Home Page:

  • Choose the Databases tab from the Library home page
  • Click Browse Databases by Title
  • Look in alphabetical order for the name of the database, as listed to the left.

Please note: For off-campus access use your first and last name, and your Banner ID number.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip