This is the "Data and Demographics" page of the "Fashion Merchandising" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Fashion Merchandising  

Last Updated: Oct 11, 2016 URL: http://libguides.library.ncat.edu/fashion Print Guide RSS Updates

Data and Demographics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Working With Statistics

Finding statistics and data can be difficult. There are a wide variety of sources for statistics, including library statistical databases and government statistical tables (listed on the right). You can also use data from studies reported in journal articles (see the Journals, Magazines, and News tab), which is usually analyzed in the article but can still provide a source of statistics for you to re-analyze.

Hint: The best database for looking at granular data on purchasing trends is SimplyMap. Want to know what neighborhoods in Greensboro spent the most on women's fashion accessories last year? SimplyMap is the place to find out!

Statistical Databases

These are subscription databases paid for by A&T's F. D. Bluford Library. You must use your Banner ID to log in.

  • Simply Map
    This robust statistics database is great for marketing and business plan development. Create ad hoc tables or map data from thousands of demographic, lifestyle, and consumer statistics.

Government Statistical Sources

These are freely available government statistical sources that you can find on the Internet.

  • Data.gov
    This new portal for government data on the web, mandated by the new Administration, has the goal of making data easier to access and more web 2.0 friendly.
  • FedStats
    This portal helps you locate data from over 100 statistic-tracking agencies in the U. S. government.
  • General Social Survey
    The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. The GSS takes the pulse of America, and is a unique and valuable resource. It has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.
  • NC State Data Center
    The State Data Center is a starting point for North Carolina state governmental statistical sources.
  • U. S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
    The BEA tracks the GDP of the nation, provides access to state GDPs, reports on the state of national and international accounts, and tracks other data on the state of the US economy.
  • U. S. Census Bureau
    The Census Bureau site includes not only the decennial (10-year) census but also the Economic Census, the Survey of Business Owners, the American Community Survey, and other major data sets. Most searchers will want to start at the "American Factfinder."
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip