Resources from the F. D. Bluford Library and the best of online instructional resources and digital collections to celebrate the Centennial of World War I.
Last Updated: Jan 2, 2018
Institutions of history all across the nation are commemorating the WWI centennial with new exhibits and digital collections.
- Anna Maria Gove Collection
Anna Maria Gove was the resident physician at what is now the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, when WWI began. She served with the Red Cross in the Children's Relief Division in France and with the Smith College Relief Unit. Her collection contains correspondence, notebooks, lecture notes, greeting cards, photographs, postcards, travel brochures, reports, and other miscellaneous items, ranging from 1864 - 1952.
- Better Living In North Carolina: Bringing Science & Technology To The People
A collaborative project between NC State University Libraries and NC A&T that features historical materials from the Cooperative Extension Service, many from the WWI & WWII periods.
- Betty H. Carter Women Veterans Historical Project
The Betty H. Carter Women Veterans Historical Project (WVHP) at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro (UNCG) documents the contributions of women in the military and related service organizations since World War I.
- Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
- Lest We Forget: WWI through the Eyes of Nine
Lest We Forget invites visitors to turn pages to learn about nine individuals connected by the Great War but whose experiences were very different.
November 11, 2017 – June 30, 2019
- Library of Congress - World War I
Digital collections, exhibits and teaching resources on WWI from various Library of Congress resources. Blog articles, newspapers from "Chronicling America", photographs and posters, many of which are free to download for study.
- National Archives - Commemorating The Great War
The National Archives resources site on World War I materials.
- National WWI Museum and Memorial
Make Way for Democracy! an exhibition portrays the lives of African Americans during the war through a series of rare images, documents and objects.
- NC Museum of History - North Carolina and World War I
Website for the NC Museum of History's year long exhibit on the history of the Tarheel State's involvement in the First World War.
- Newspaper Pictorials: World War I Rotogravures, 1914 to 1919
Digital collection of the Sunday rotogravure sections from the New York Tribune for 1916-19.
- North Carolina Digital Collections - World War I Collection
World War I materials from the collections of the State Library and State Archives of North Carolina
- North Carolina in World War I: An introduction by R. Jackson Marshall III
An article from the state encyclopedia on the history of NC in World War I. Originally published from Tar Heel Junior Historian, Spring 1993.
- Smithsonian - Naitonal Museum of American History: World War I
This website contains a variety of collections demonstrating the history of World War I and of the United States’ participation in it.
- Smithsonian - World War I Centennial
Links to guides and exhibits related to the war from the Smithsonian Institute.
- Smithsonian Institute - African American WWI Military Service
Gallery of digital collection images related to African American services in American wars.
- Textiles, Teachers, and Troops, Greensboro, North Carolina 1880-1945
Textiles, Teachers, and Troops is a digital collection which makes available more than 175,000 digital images documenting the social and cultural development of Greensboro from Reconstruction to World War II.