This Guide collects resources on nutritional sciences, dietetics, food science, and food technology.
Last Updated: Oct 18, 2016
Here are lists of databases that might help you, organized by category. All of these databases are available for on and off-campus users here or by going through the Library's Home Page at http://www.library.ncat.edu.
To find these databases from the Library Home Page:
- Choose the Databases tab from the Library home page
- Click Browse Databases by Title
- Look in alphabetical order for the name of the database, as listed to the left.
Please note: For off-campus access use your first and last name, and your Banner ID number.
When searching in online databases, remember these rules of thumb:
- The words you enter determine exactly what you get out. So, for different results you must use different words.
- More search terms = fewer results.
- Fewer terms = more results.
- Connect words with AND instead of putting in complete sentences. Computers do not understand grammar.
These databases include at least some full-text articles. Many allow you to limit your results to onlyresults that will show the full article ("full-text"), but be aware that you will get fewer results that way.
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database includes food science resources, but also draws from other fields like education, business, chemistry, and more. Use this database when looking for a topic that goes beyond just dietetics research.
- CINAHL with Full Text
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) is one of the most definitive sources for health sciences research.
Collection of handbooks in the food sciences. Though this is not technically an article source, it includes information on food sciences from hundreds of essential handbooks.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition
Popular and consumer-oriented publications on medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
- Health Source - Academic Edition
Full-text academic journals on medical and health topics from all health science disciplines.
- ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Journals
Large collection of allied health journals in full-text.
Full-text source for journals from the science publisher Elsevier. Dozens of major nutrition journals are included, plus chemical and microbiological materials that relate to food sciences.
These databases may link to articles, but do not include many articles in full-text inside the database. They can be more time consuming to use, because they include thousands of abstracts from around the world but do not directly deliver the full article. Use bibliographic databases for in-depth research when you need to go beyond the limits of the quick-and-easy resources.
- CAB Direct
CAB indexes major international publications in the applied life sciences, including a major section on nutrition.
- Health and Safety Science Abstracts
This database "provides a comprehensive, timely survey of recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene." Use this database for research on safety issues in industrial food processing.
- Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A)
Information on microbiology in the agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries.
PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals back to 1948.
Covers fitness, sport sciences, and health topics. Nutrition for athletes and dietetics topics that relate to fitness may be found here.
- Web of Science
In addition to providing access to the Citation Indexes, this is also a major abstract source covering all disciplines but focusing particularly on sciences.