Technical Writing

This book is for any clinician who wants to write. It is for the physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner who sees patients and also wants to contribute to the medical literature. It is for the assistant professor aspiring to promotion and the clinician in private practice seeking personal enrichment. Loaded with practical advice and real-world examples, this text benefits readers who are new to medical writing and those who have authored a few articles or chapters and want to improve.Readers relate to this book because it is written by someone who has been in their shoes. Dr. Robert B. Taylor is a leader in the field of family medicine. Unlike the authors of many other books who have little experience outside of academia or publishing, writing is just one component of his career. He wrote this book to share what works and what doesnt in medical writing. Clinicians learn how to translate observations and ideas from their practices into written form and eventually into print.

Communication Patterns of Engineers brings together,summarizes, and analyzes the research on how engineers communicate,presenting benchmark data and identifying gaps in the existingresearch. Written by two renowned experts in this area, the text: Compares engineering communication patterns with those ofscience and medicine Offers information on improving engineering communicationskills, including the use of communication tools to addressengineering departments' concerns about the inadequacies ofcommunication by engineers Provides strong conclusions to address what lessons engineeringeducators, librarians, and communication professionals can learnfrom the research presented

This book is specifically aimed at German-speaking secretaries, PAs, and management assistants who need to speak English in their daily work. This book enables you to deal with a range of challenging situations in the most effective and efficient way. It provides guidelines, models, and expressions contextualised in realistic situations that you can dip into on a need-to basis.

The Global English Style Guide illustrates how much you can do to make written texts more suitable for a global audience. Accompanied by an abundance of clearly explained examples, the Global English guidelines show you how to write documentation that is optimized for non-native speakers of English, translators, and even machine-translation software, as well as for native speakers of English. You'll find dozens of guidelines that you won't find in any other source, along with thorough explanations of why each guideline is useful. Author John Kohl also includes revision strategies, as well as caveats that will help you avoid applying guidelines incorrectly. Focusing primarily on sentence-level stylistic issues, problematic grammatical constructions, and terminology issues, this book addresses the following topics: ways to simplify your writing style and make it consistent; ambiguities that most writers and editors are not aware of, and how to eliminate those ambiguities; how to make your sentence structure more explicit so that your sentences are easier for native and non-native speakers to read and understand; punctuation and capitalization guidelines that improve readability and make translation more efficient; and how language technologies such as controlled-authoring software can facilitate the adoption of Global English as a corporate standard. This text is intended for anyone who uses written English to communicate technical information to a global audience. Technical writers, technical editors, science writers, and training instructors are just a few of the professions for which this book is essential reading. Even if producing technical information is not your primary job function, the Global English guidelines can help you communicate more effectively with colleagues around the world. This book is part of the SAS Press program.

The art of writing up a completed research project in a format suitable for submission to a social work journal is an ability separate from one's skills as a research methodologist. It is also an ability that, despite its importance, is often overlooked by research courses and senior-level mentors. This straightforward pocket guide to Preparing Research Articles steps into the void as an insider's guide to getting published. Drawing on nearly 20 years of experience editing a social work research journal, Bruce A. Thyer has crafted a candid companion to the journal publishing process, unraveling the mysteries that students - as well as many established researchers - might otherwise stumble over, and as a result their prospectus for future success improve. Thyer's frank advice on selecting an appropriate journal, handling rejections and revisions, understanding confusing concepts like impact factors and electronic publishing, and avoiding common methodological and formatting pitfalls, constitute a gold mine for the fledging researcher-writer.

Technical Writing for Engineering Professionalsprovides a toolkit for developing technical reports quickly and efficiently. The book offers clear, specific guidelines for developing each of the sections (abstract, conclusions, introduction, and discussion) and designing and using graphics that illustrate your results. Weatherford's approach can be applied in all types of writing, from email and letters to project proposals and final reports. The book also includes tips for using English that will help keep your writing crisp and clear. Anyone in a technical profession, from intern to management, who wants to implement a better, faster, and more consistent approach to writing will benefit from reading this book. Key Features -Understand the process of writing a technical report, from the time you know your conclusions until you present it to your supervisor, client, or professional organization. -Get a quick overview of each chapter in the "short form" summary at the beginning, and use the handy checklist at the end to critique each part of your report as you write. -Learn to read literature efficiently and critically and take notes that will help you write your own reports as well as how to cite material that will lend strength to your work.

You're a computing or information student with a huge mountain to climb - that final-year research project. Don't worry, because with this book guardian angels are at hand, in the form of four brilliant academics who will guide you through the process. The book provides you with all the tools necessary to successfully complete a final year research project. Based on an approach that has been tried and tested on over 500 projects, it offers a simple step-by-step guide to the key processes involved. Not only that, but the book also contains lots of useful information for supervisors and examiners including guidelines on how to review a final year project.

Engineers must possess a range of business communication skills that enable them to effectively communicate the purpose and relevance of their idea, process, or technical design. This unique business communication text is packed with practical advice that will improve your ability to-- Market ideas Write proposals Generate enthusiasm for research Deliver presentations Explain a design Organize a project team Coordinate meetings Create technical reports and specifications Focusing on the three critical communication needs of engineering professionals--speaking, writing, and listening--the book delineates critical communication strategies required in many group settings and work situations. It demonstrates how to integrate a marketing strategy into every facet of engineering communication, from presentations, visual aids, proposals, and technical reports to e-mail and phone calls. Using situational examples, the book also illustrates how to use computers, graphics, and other engineering tools to effectively communicate with other engineers and managers.

A survival guide for writers in the real-world, Writing and Designing Manuals, Third Edition has become a standard reference for technical writers and editors. Readable and practical, it addresses all aspects of manual development from choosing a format to writing effective warnings. Not limited to text elements, the manual also provides guidance for designing illustrations to complement the text and underscore the safety warnings. The completely revised and updated Third Edition includes: Þ Current materials on desktop publishing Þ Alternative media such as videos, CD-ROMs, and on-line help Þ The impact of new technology such as CD-ROMs and digital cameras on manual design and production Þ New regulations for products sold overseas Þ Impact of the Internet on manual design Gone are the days when a manual might be a few pages of typewritten text. Thanks to the advances in computer technology, even tiny companies can produce slick, professional publications. Writing and Designing Manuals, Third Edition guides you through the messy, complex, frustrating, and fascinating business of producing manuals.

The most comprehensive writing guide available for science students and professional researchers This exceptional book encompasses the entire range of writing skills that today's experimental scientist may need to employ. Detailed chapters cover every type of science writing, from routine forms, such as laboratory notes, abstracts, and memoranda, to the more complex writing required in dissertations, journal articles, and grant proposals. Using numerous extended examples, the book offers students and professionals alike the thorough, practical advice they need to optimize the effectiveness of their written communications. Robert Goldbort discusses how best to approach various writing tasks as well as how to deal with the everyday complexities that may get in the way of ideal practice--difficult collaborators, experiments gone wrong, funding rejections. He underscores the importance of an ethical approach to science and scientific communication and insists on the necessity of full disclosure. For working scientists, those seeking employment in the sciences, students taking on writing assignments or oral presentations, and professionals who hope to publish or acquire funding, this volume is an essential resource.

Are you a post-graduate student in Engineering, Science or Technology who needs to know how to: Prepare abstracts, theses and journal papers Present your work orally Present a progress report to your funding body Would you like some guidance aimed specifically at your subject area? ... This is the book for you; a practical guide to all aspects of post-graduate documentation for Engineering, Science and Technology students, which will prove indispensable to readers. Writing for Science and Engineering will prove invaluable in all areas of research and writing due its clear, concise style. The practical advice contained within the pages alongside numerous examples to aid learning will make the preparation of documentation much easier for all students.