Research & Subject Guides: Mens et Manus: A Pictorial History of North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University: Summer Resources

About the Summer Resources

The Text-in-Community and 125th Anniversary book will not be available until after Welcome Week - right after school starts at the end of August - or soon thereafter.

To get you started on celebrating 125 years of North Carolina A&T State University, we are making available at least two free and openly accessible online articles, books, or other materials used to research each chapter of the book.

Chapter One: Laying Foundations, 1890-1918

African American Photographs Assembled for 1900 Paris Exposition: Search Result by Du Bois, W.E.B.
Call Number: Washington, DC: Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division
Du Bois, W.E.B. "African American Photographs Assembled for 1900 Paris Exposition: Search Results " Washington, DC: Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division, http://www.loc.gov/pictures/search/?q=greensboro&co=anedub.
Of Mr. Booker T. Washington and Others by Du Bois, W.E.B.
Call Number: Chap. 3 In The Souls of Black Folk: Essays and Sketches, 41-59. Chicago: A.C. McClurg. from Document
Publication Date: 1903, 2001
Du Bois, W.E.B. "Of Mr. Booker T. Washington and Others." Chap. 3 In The Souls of Black Folk: Essays and Sketches, 41-59. Chicago: A.C. McClurg, 1903. from Documenting the American South, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, electronic edition, 2001 http://docsouth.unc.edu/church/duboissouls/dubois.html

Chapter Two: Migration, Renaissance, and Depression

The Late President Dudley by Bluford, F.D. ed.
Call Number: The Agricultural and Technical College REGISTER, 15, no. 5
Publication Date: May 1925
Bluford, F.D. ed. "The Late President Dudley." The Agricultural and Technical College REGISTER, 15, no. 5 (May 1925) (entire issue). from http://cdm15116.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/compoundobject/collection/p15116coll1/id/20222/rec/1
The Ayantee
Publication Date: 1939
The Ayantee. Greensboro: A&T, 1939. http://library.digitalnc.org/cdm/ref/collection/yearbooks/id/2044.

Chapter Three: The War Years, 1940-1949

The African Americans of D-Day by Garvin, Glenn
Call Number: Miami Herald : 5E
Publication Date: February 23, 2007
Garvin, Glenn. "The African Americans of D-Day." Miami Herald (February 23, 2007): 5E. http://www.military.com/NewsContent/0,13319,126337,00.html.
Tuskegee Airman Lt. Colonel Eldridge Williams Honored on 97th Birthday by Scheckner, Jesse
Call Number: Pinecrest Tribune : 1
Publication Date: December 6, 2014
Scheckner, Jesse. "Tuskegee Airman Lt. Colonel Eldridge Williams Honored on 97th Birthday." Pinecrest Tribune (December 6, 2014): 1. http://www.communitynewspapers.com/pinecrest/tuskegee-airman-lt-colonel-eldridge-williams-honored-97th-birthday/.

Chapter Four: The Civil Rights Era, 1950-1965

For Service: Students Stage Sitdown Demand by Rozier, A.L. ed.
Call Number: The Agricultural and Technical College REGISTER, 31, no. 9
Publication Date: February 5, 1960
Rozier, A.L. ed. "For Service: Students Stage Sitdown Demand." The Agricultural and Technical College REGISTER, 31, no. 9 (February 5, 1960) (and entire issue). from http://cdm15116.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/ref/collection/p15116coll1/id/21376
A Joint Resolution Honoring the Life and Memory of Warmoth Thomas Gibbs by North Carolina General Assembly: Resolution 20; Senate Joint Resolution 1252
Publication Date: June 30, 1993
"A Joint Resolution Honoring the Life and Memory of Warmoth Thomas Gibbs.” North Carolina General Assembly: Resolution 20; Senate Joint Resolution 1252 (June 30, 1993). http://www.ncleg.net/Sessions/1993/Bills/Senate/PDF/S1252v2.pdf.

Chapter Five: Black Power and Activism, 1966-1979

Black Power? A Slogan, a Threat, a Poor Choice of Words by House, Lee, Jr.
Call Number: The A.&T. College Register 38, no. 3 : 2
Publication Date: September 30, 1966
House, Lee, Jr. "Black Power? A Slogan, a Threat, a Poor Choice of Words." The A.&T. College Register 38, no. 3 (September 30, 1966): 2. from http://cdm15116.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/ref/collection/p15116coll1/id/22151 [scroll down]
Dudley High School/NC A&T University Disturbances, May 1969 by Hawkins, Karen
Call Number: Civil Rights Greensboro
Publication Date: 2014
Hawkins, Karen. "Dudley High School/NC A&T University Disturbances, May 1969." Civil Rights Greensboro (2014). http://libcdm1.uncg.edu/cdm/essay1969/collection/CivilRights.
The Day the National Guard Swept A&T's Scott Hall by Newton, David
Call Number: Greensboro Daily News via Civil Rights Greensboro
Publication Date: May 20, 1979
http://libcdm1.uncg.edu/cdm/ref/collection/CivilRights/id/1907

Chapter Six: The Technological Age, 1980-2000

Address before the Democratic National Convention by Jackson, Reverend Jesse Louis
Call Number: FRONTLINE
Publication Date: July 18, 1984
Jackson, Reverend Jesse Louis. "Address before the Democratic National Convention." FRONTLINE (July 18, 1984). http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/jesse/speeches/jesse84speech.html.
Ron McNair 1950-1986
Call Number: The A&T Register 56, no. 10: 1-2
Publication Date: February 11, 1986
"Ron McNair - 1950-1986." The A&T Register 56, no. 10 (February 11, 1986): 1-2 http://cdm15116.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/ref/collection/p15116coll1/id/2079
Address by the Reverend Jesse Louis Jackson by Jackson, Reverend Jesse Louis
Call Number: FRONTLINE
Publication Date: July 19, 1988
Jackson, Reverend Jesse Louis. "Address by the Reverend Jesse Louis Jackson." FRONTLINE (July 19, 1988). http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/jesse/speeches/jesse88speech.html.

Chapter Seven: A New Millennium, 2001-2014

Aggie in the Hall by Rowland, Nettie C.
Call Number: A&T Today 7, no. 2: 12-15
Publication Date: Winter 2004
Rowland, Nettie C. "Aggie in the Hall." A&T Today 7, no. 2 (Winter 2004): 12-15. http://archive-staff.ncat.edu/univrel/publications/copy/attoday/attodaywinter04.pdf. [scroll to article]
First and Foremost: First Lady Michelle Obama Captivates Grads with History and Hope by Jones, Tiffany S.
Call Number: A&T Today : 14-17
Publication Date: Fall 2012/Winter 2013
Jones, Tiffany S. "First and Foremost: First Lady Michelle Obama Captivates Grads with History and Hope." A&T Today (Fall 2012/Winter 2013): 14-17. http://archive-staff.ncat.edu/univrel/publications/copy/attoday/attodaywinter13.pdf. [scroll to article]
A Legacy of Courage: Franklin Eugene McCain Sr. ‘64
Call Number: A&T Today : 22-27
Publication Date: Winter 2013/Spring 2014
"A Legacy of Courage: Franklin Eugene McCain Sr. ‘64." A&T Today (Winter 2013/Spring 2014): 22-27. http://relations.ncat.edu/pubs/attoday/attodaywntrsprng13-14.pdf. [scroll to article]