Book reviews are important resources for your research because they help you to survey the reactions to a book at the time of publication and provide summaries of a book’s contents.
Last Updated: Aug 31, 2016
- Academic Search Complete
Database contains indexing for over 8,200 publications, with full text for nearly 4,650 of those titles.
AnthroSource is the premier online portal serving the needs of educators, students, researchers, and practitioners in the area of anthropology.
- General One File
An index to general periodicals and scholarly journals providing millions of full-text articles.
- International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP)
Full-text coverage of over 40 core Black Studies periodicals, plus citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals.
JSTOR (Journal Storage, founded in 1995) is an online system for achiving academic journals. It provides full-text searches of digitized (scanned) back issues of several hundred well known journals, dating back to 1665 in the case of the Philosophical Transactions.
- Lexis Nexis Academic
Contains journals, magazines, transcripts, newspapers, newsletters, and other sources covering news, business, legal, and other types of information.
- MasterFile Complete
Indexes over 2,600 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book.
- MLA International Bibliography
An index to scholarly articles from journals dealing with literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
- Project Muse
Full text of scholarly journals covering the humanities and social sciences. It provides full-text access to over 300 humanities, arts and social sciences journals.
- Proquest Direct
Search available ProQuest databases simultaneously. Indexes films, book reviews, videos etc. from journals and newspapers, some are available in full text.
PsycINFO database contains references to psychological literature from the 1800s–present, from journal articles, books, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations. This database contains only abstracts and bibliographic citations, not the full-text of the articles.
- Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the world's leading journals in sociology. It covers articles published since 1974. There is extensive coverage of sociolinguistics. It is the online version of Sociological Abstracts.
- Web of Science
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index